Ohio Athletics Hosts Third Annual Catspys Awards

Wrestler Jeremy Johnson received Male Athlete of the Year honors at the Catspys.

April 9, 2014


ATHENS, Ohio - The Ohio University Student-Athlete Advisory committee held the Third Annual Catspys Awards Monday evening inside Memorial Auditorium to celebrate another outstanding year of Bobcat Athletics.

Close to 400 student-athletes, coaches, administrators and staff members attended the ceremony, which recognized the outstanding moments, players and teams that defined the 2013-14 Ohio athletics season.

Ohio student-athletes voted for each of the specialty awards prior to Tuesday's event online. Once the votes were tabulated, the awards for Most Improved Team, Breakthrough Athlete, Sportswoman of the Year, Best Game, Comeback Athlete of the Year, Best Play, Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Female Athlete of the Year and Male Athlete of the Year were announced.

The Female Scholar Athlete of the Year and Male Scholar Athlete of the Year were voted on by members from the athletic administration. In addition, the Comeback Athlete of the Year was awarded to an athlete who has demonstrated the ability to return from a significant injury during the season in a vote conducted by the Ohio training staff.

Each of the award winners received a glass trophy in honor of their respective accomplishment. Ohio Football student-athletes Chase Cochran and Josh Kristoff served as emcees for the evening.

The night's award presenters included Meredith Ashy (volleyball), Kara Brinkmann (women's golf), Donyelle Brown (track & field), Spartak Chino (wrestling), Amanda Dalton (softball), Tim Edmond (football), Stephanie Gyurke (swimming), Kristen Helmsdoerfer (women's golf), Yamonie Jenkins (women's basketball), Gabriella Kain (track & field), Aaron Macer (football), Lauren McKinzie (women's golf), Morgan Meade (track & field), Sebastian Pique (wrestling), Janiece Rose (track & field), Leah Sandercock (soccer), Spencer Sapp (baseball), Tajah Smith (track & field), Treg Setty (men's basketball), Rachel Stearns (swimming), Kurt Steinmuller (cross country), Watson Tautuiaki (football), Luli Gomez Teruel (field hockey), Tyler Wells (baseball) and Kat Yelle (women's basketball).

Specialty Award Winners - Voted On By Ohio University Student-Athletes
Most Improved Team - Women's Basketball
Breakthrough Athlete - Harrison Hightower, Wrestling
Sportswoman of the Year - Kelly Lamberti, Volleyball
Best Game - Men's Basketball vs. Toledo (Feb. 1, W, 95-90 (OT))
Comeback Athlete of the Year - Kat Yelle, Women's Basketball#
Best Play - Alyssa Wolfe (softball) catch vs. Miami in the 2013 MAC Tournament
Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Kristen Helmsdoerfer, Women's Golf*
Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Brandon O'Malley, Cross Country*
Rookie of the Year - Tarell Basham, Football
Female Athlete of the Year - Abby Gilleland, Volleyball
Male Athlete of the Year - Jeremy Johnson, Wrestling
* - Voted on by Ohio University Athletic Administration
# - Voted on by the Ohio University Athletics Training Staff