Ohio's Sano Named Master Strength and Conditioning Coach

Sonny Sano
May 4, 2016 FORT WORTH, Texas – Shigeru (Sonny) Sano, Assistant Athletic Director for Sport Performance at Ohio University, will be named Master Strength and Conditioning Coach by the Collegiate Strength and Conditioning Coaches association (CSCCa). This honor is the highest given in the strength and conditioning coaching profession, and the ceremony is undoubtedly the highlight of the association’s National Conference each year. Master Strength and Conditioning Coach Mike Gentry, from Virginia Tech University, will present Coach Sano with the blue MSCC Jacket on Thursday evening, May 5, 2016, at the Fort Worth Omni Hotel in Fort Worth, Texas.

“This is an incredible honor for Sonny,” says CSCCa Executive Director, Dr. Chuck Stiggins. “Being named a Master Strength and Conditioning Coach signifies a commitment to the student athlete, the Ohio University Athletic Program, and the strength and conditioning profession. We are honored to have Coach Sano as a member of our association and to have him join the ranks of the Master Strength and Conditioning Coaches. He is truly a model of an outstanding strength and conditioning professional.”

In order to receive this certification and corresponding title of distinction, an individual must first meet the following criteria:

1) Hold a minimum of a bachelor’s degree;
2) Be a currently practicing, full-time strength & conditioning coach on the collegiate or professional level;
3) Hold current membership in the Collegiate Strength & Conditioning Coaches association (CSCCa);
4) Hold the CSCCa Certification – SCCC (Strength & Conditioning Coach Certified); and
5) Have a minimum of 12 years experience as a full-time strength and conditioning coach on the collegiate and/or professional level.

Thirty-one collegiate strength & conditioning coaches will receive the prestigious certification of Master Strength & Conditioning Coach at the 2016 MSCC Ceremony: Sonny Sano (Ohio University); Russell Barbarino (University of Michigan); Angie Brambley-Moyer (Princeton University); Scott Brincks (University of Tennessee - Chattanooga); Keith Caton, Jr. (Indiana University); Rick Court (University of Maryland); Dr. Tredell Dorsey (Georgia Southern University); Charles Dudley, Jr. (University of Texas - San Antonio); Matthew Eck (University of Nevada - Reno); Joshua Eidson (University of Illinois); Monty Gibson (Texas A&M University); Steve Gortmaker (University of South Florida); Paul Helsel, III, (Colgate University); Matt Herring (University of Missouri); Ben Hilgart (Virginia Tech University); Victor Ishmael (University of Miami); Je’Ney Jackson (University of Kansas); Bob Medina (Brigham Young University); Jeff Oliver (College of the Holy Cross); Steve Orris (Nova Southeastern University); Tim Overman (University of Oklahoma); Brad Pantall (The Pennsylvania State University); Matt Parker (Texas Christian University); Jason Phillips (Colorado State University); Sarah Ramey (West Texas A&M University); Travis Reust (University of Texas – San Antonio); Dave Richardson (The Ohio State University); Whitney Rodden (MidAmerica Nazarene University); Chris Ruf (Baylor University); Jon Sanderson (University of Michigan); and LaVell Williams (Jackson State University). These 31 coaches will join the existing 156 Master Strength & Conditioning Coaches, bringing the total number of MSCC’s to 187.