Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Swimming & Diving's Ferguson Captures Conference Gold

Sophomore Addison Ferguson earned Mid-American Conference titles in both the 100-yard backstroke and 100-yard butterfly with record-setting times on Friday.

Feb. 28, 2014

2014 MAC Championships Prelims Results | 2014 MAC Championships Finals Results

GENEVA, Ohio - Sophomore Addison Ferguson (Westfield Center, Ohio) repeated as Mid-American Conference 100-yard backstroke champion and captured conference gold in the 100-yard butterfly to highlight the second day of the 2014 MAC Championships on Friday (Feb. 28) at the SPIRE Institute.

Ferguson broke her own school record and set a championship record with a time of 53.10 in the backstroke finals. She posted the top qualifying time in the prelims by clocking a first-place 53.64. Ferguson set a pool record by finishing in 53.48 in the fly finals, which ranks as the second-best in school history in the event. She qualified for the finals with a first-place 53.80 in the prelims.

Sophomore Haley Clark (College Station, Texas) took eighth in the 100 fly prelims with a season-best time of 55.37 to qualify for the finals, where she finished eighth in 55.93.

Senior Laurin Williams (Shoreline, Wash.) claimed ninth in the 400-yard individual medley prelims with a 4:24.79, then timed in a season-best 4:23.70 in the consulation final.

The `Cats claimed three of the top four spots in the three-meter dive prelims. Senior Kristin Capcik (Milwaukee, Wis.) posted a score of 321.15 to take second. Junior Morgan Srail (Avon Lake, Ohio) placed third with a 306.25. Senior MaryRose Hillstrom (Dimondale, Mich.) finished fourth with a season-best score of 304.05.

Ohio's 200-yard medley relay team of Ferguson, junior Tori Bagan (Roanoke, Ind.), freshman Carrie Dukes (Monkton, Md.) and Clark finished fourth with a season-best time of 1:41.55, which ranks fifth in school history.

The 2014 MAC Championships conclude Saturday (March 1) with a preliminary session set for 11 a.m. ET to be followed by finals at 7 p.m. ET. Ohio is currently in seventh place with 240 points.