Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Earns Second at Mid-American Conference Championships

Ohio's Laurin Williams was one of two Bobcats to earn First Team All-MAC honors

March 2, 2013

Saturday Results | Thursday-Saturday Results

BUFFALO, N.Y. – The Ohio University Swimming and Diving Team earned its second straight silver medal at the 2012-13 Mid-American Conference Championships, placing second with a total team score of 505 points. The Bobcats claimed one individual title on Saturday, bringing their season total to three.

Miami took first place at the Championships, finishing with 621 points through 20 events. Ohio finished ahead of Bowling Green (467) and Eastern Michigan (450). Host Buffalo, Toledo, Ball State, and Akron rounded out the remaining participants in the Championships, in that order.

Ohio earned two places on the All-MAC First Team, as Addison Ferguson and Laurin Williams claimed the honors for the Green and White. The Bobcats also earned two spots on the All-MAC Second Team, as Katey Brooks and Lauren Funk claimed these honors.

Williams (Shoreline, Wash.) earned Ohio’s third MAC title of the season on Saturday, placing first in the 1650 freestyle. The junior captain touched the wall in a time of 16:14.60, beating her nearest competitor by more than eight seconds. The time was not only the second fastest time in program history, but it also qualified for the NCAA “B” cut. Bianca Hauzer (Germiston, South Africa) and Stephanie Gyurke (Bellevue, Ohio) also placed in this event for Ohio, taking seventh and 15th, respectively.

Three Bobcats scored in the next event of the day, the 200 backstroke. Rachel Stearns (Minnetonka, Minn.) took fourth in a time of 1:58.77; Anastasia Bocharnikova (Nizhny Tagil, Russia) took ninth (first in “B” final) in a time of 1:59.59, and Addison Ferguson (Westfield Center, Ohio) earned 14th place (sixth in “B” final) with a time of 2:01.64. Stearns’ time was an especially impressive one, as it was the fourth fastest in program history and it also qualified for the NCAA “B” cut.

In the 100 freestyle, Lauren Funk (Springfield, Ohio), Katey Brooks (North Royalton, Ohio), and Haley Clark (College Station, Texas) earned points for the Bobcats. Funk placed fifth in a time of 50.46 seconds; Brooks earned ninth (first in “B” final)  in 50.45 seconds, and Clark took 13th (fifth in “B” final) in 51.36 seconds. Combined, these three ‘Cats scored 27 points in the 100 freestyle.

The 200 breaststroke was the lone event in which Ohio scored zero points on Saturday.

Two student-athletes scored for Ohio in the 200 butterfly, as Michelle Gasior (Louisville, Ky.) took 12th (fourth in “B” final) in a time of 2:03.77 and Deidre Geroni (Emmaus, Pa.) earned 16th (eighth in “B” final) in a time of 2:05.78.

The three-meter diving competition was a success for the Bobcats, as Ohio scored four divers in the event. Kristin Capcik (Milwaukee, Wis.) and Morgan Srail (Avon Lake, Ohio) finished in the top six, with Capcik taking fifth and Srail finishing sixth. MaryRose Hillstrom (Dimondale, Mich.) then earned ninth overall, scoring a career-best mark of 318.10 points while teammate Haleigh Bartlett (Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio) placed 11th with a score of 309.70.

The Bobcats ended the competition with a third-place result in the final event of the day, the 400 freestyle relay. The team of Brooks, Clark, Ferguson, and Funk finished in a time of 3:23.19 to earn 32 points for the Green and White. This was the third fastest time ever swam in program history.

All-MAC First Team
Briana Emig (Eastern Michigan)
Brittney Kuras (Buffalo)
Mallory Morrell (Buffalo)
Danielle Hulvey (Eastern Michigan)
Carly Harter (Toledo)
Mallory Miles (Ball State)
Bridgette Ruehl (Ball State)
Addison Ferguson (Ohio)
Laurin Williams (Ohio)
Alexa Harris (Bowling Green)
Jessie Godlewski (Eastern Michigan)
Jessica Powers (Buffalo)
Cat Carr (Akron)
Bekka Westrick (Miami)
Beth Rogers (Toledo)

All-MAC Second Team
Leah Thornton (Miami)
Emily Wisolek (Ball State)
Maegan O’Connor (Miami)
Courtney Collett (Miami)
Mckenzie Bagan (Toledo)
Katey Brooks (Ohio)
Stephanie Boyle (Bowling Green)
Aubrey Kluth (Miami)
Emily Waller (Bowling Green)
Daniela Carrillo-Avilez (Bowling Green)
Kelly Hendricks (Eastern Michigan)
Jackie Swartz (Eastern Michigan)
Joelle Scheps (Bowling Green)
Maria Bargardi (Toledo)
Lauren Funk (Ohio)
Alexis Kain (Bowling Green)
Nichole Wagner (Miami)

Outstanding Diver
Danielle Hulvey (Eastern Michigan)

Diving Coach of the Year
Buck Smith (Eastern Michigan)

Outstanding Swimmer
Brittney Kuras (Buffalo)

Swimming Coach of the Year
Petra Martin (Bowling Green)

Outstanding Senior Award
Briana Emig (Eastern Michigan)

- #OhioBobcats -