Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Swimming and Diving Distributes Annual Team Awards

Just a freshman, Addison Ferguson had a breakout debut season for the Bobcats in 2012-13

April 19, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio – Following the conclusion of a successful 2012-13 season, the Ohio University swimming and diving team took a day to distribute its team awards at the program’s annual banquet. The team honored its stellar senior class of seven student-athletes and also distributed four specialty awards named after former swimming and diving student-athletes and coaches who made notable contributions to the program.

Ohio’s 2012-13 senior class was a memorable one, a group of student-athletes which never finished lower than third at the annual Mid-American Conference Championships. The class of Anastasia Bocharnikova (Nizhny Tagil, Russia), Katey Brooks (North Royalton, Ohio), Lauren Funk (Springfield, Ohio), Deidre Geroni (Emmaus, Pa.), Alexa Gordish (North Canton, Ohio), Caroline Meyer (Holland, Mich.), and Katie Power (Ottawa, Ontario), finished third at the 2010 MAC Championships, won top honors in 2011, and then earned second at the 2012 and 2013 editions of the meet. Funk led the class with an impressive five MAC individual and relay titles while she and Brooks each were named to the 2013 All-MAC Second Team in early March.

For a full breakdown of the team’s specialty awards, please read below:

Scott Hammond Award – Most Outstanding Performance
(Named after former swimming and diving head coach Scott Hammond, who coached the program from 1986-95)
Laurin Williams (Shoreline, Wash.) in the 1650 Freestyle at the MAC Championships. Williams earned her first MAC title, winning by 8.72 seconds to rank 31st in the country with her time of 16:14.60. She set a school record 1000 Free split during the race.

Tad Potter Memorial Award – Leadership, Conduct, Citizenship, Spirit, and Enthusiasm
(Named after former men’s team member and first MAC swimming All-American)
Tori Bagan (Roanoke, Ind.) for exhibiting loyalty, selflessness, courage, positivity, and encouragement throughout the season.

Fletcher Gilders Memorial Award – Most Improved
(Named after former swimming and diving head coach Fletcher Gilders, who coached from 1959-83)
Addison Ferguson (Westfield Center, Ohio) showed improvement in five events to win this award. Her 100 Backstroke improved from 55.98 seconds to 54.02 (3.5 percent); her 100 Butterfly improved from 56.51 seconds to 54.41 (3.7 percent); her 200 Backstroke improved from 2:15.43 to 2:01.64 (10.2 percent); her 50 Freestyle Relay split improved from 25.20 seconds to 22.90, and her 100 Freestyle Relay split improved from 55.70 seconds to 51.40.

Ed Wright Memorial Award – Team MVP
(Named after former men’s team member and member of first team in program history: 1935-36)
Laurin Williams and Addison Ferguson.

Williams: NCAA qualifier and participant in 500 and 1650 Freestyle … Highest national rank (31st in 1650 Freestyle) … 1650 Freestyle champion at MAC Championships … Scored 50 individual points at MACs … Set one school record … First Team All-MAC … 12 individual dual-meet victories.

Ferguson: Two NCAA “B” cuts … Scored 35 individual points at MACs … Scored 33.5 relay points at MACs … Set two school records … First Team All-MAC … 13 individual dual-meet victories, team high individual and relay … Highest national ranked event (74th).

Captain’s Award
(In recognition for service as team captain for the 2012-13 season)
Deidre Geroni and Laurin Williams.

- #OhioBobcats -