$restriction.code /sports/fball/2018-19/releases/20180716ixt28m

Ohio's Rourke Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

Ohio's Rourke Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

ATHENS, Ohio -- The Maxwell Football Club today announced its watch lists for the 82nd annual Maxwell Award and included on the list was Ohio junior quarterback Nathan Rourke (Oakville, Ontario).

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937.

Last season, Rourke set Ohio records in rushing touchdowns (21), points scored (132), touchdowns scored (22) and touchdowns responsible for (39) while going 161-292 passing for 2,203 and rushing for 912. Rourke had 21 rushing touchdowns, 17 passing touchdowns and caught a pass for a score.

Rourke, who was recently named a team captain for the Bobcats, was also a Second Team All-MAC selection.

Following the season, Rourke was named the Canadian Player of the Year by Krown Countdown U closing the book a truly record-breaking season.

Rourke was one of four Mid-American Conference student-athletes named to the watch list and was the only quarterback selected.

Maxwell's contributions to the game of football were extensive, including time as a player, a sportswriter and an official. The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.