Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Mike Schmidt Named to the 2012 MAC Hall of Fame Class

Mike Schmidt

May 10, 2012

ATHENS, Ohio - Former Ohio University Baseball All-American Mike Schmidt was named to the 2012 Mid-American Conference Hall of Fame Induction Class today. Schmidt is one of six new members that will be inducted into the MAC Hall of Fame on Thursday, May 17 at the MAC Honor's Dinner at the Cleveland Renaissance Hotel.

Mike Schmidt is a legend within the Ohio University community and throughout Major League Baseball, where he received the ultimate honor being inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1995.

"We couldn't be happier for Mike and his family," said Ohio Athletics Director Jim Schaus. "Mike truly is one of the legendary figures in the game of baseball, but also at Ohio University as he helped lead our program to the 1970 College Baseball World Series. We are so proud to have him as one of our alumni and we look forward to a special evening."

Schmidt lettered in baseball for four years from 1967-71 and was named an All-American for both the 1970 and 1971 seasons. In 1970 he helped guide the Bobcats to the College Baseball World Series. He was named First Team All-MAC during three seasons of his impressive career, receiving the honors for the 1969, 1970 and 1971 seasons.

"Playing with Mike Schmidt during my collegiate career was a true honor and I am thrilled that he will be recognized as one of the all-time greats in the history of the Mid-American Conference," said Ohio Baseball head coach Joe Carbone.

Schmidt was selected in the second round by the Philadelphia Phillies in 1971 with the 30th overall pick. He went on to play 18 years for the Phillies (1972-89) and was named to 12 All-Star Teams, received 10 Gold Glove Awards at third base, was a three-time National League MVP (1980, 81, 86) and was a member of the 1980 World Series Champion Philadelphia Phillies.

The MAC Hall of Fame was approved by the MAC Council of Presidents in 1987. The charter class was inducted in 1988 and subsequent classes were added in 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992 and 1994. After six induction classes, the MAC Hall of Fame maintained 52 members until it was reinstated this May. This year's class brings the number of MAC Hall of Fame inductees to 58 individuals from seven classes.

Joining Schmidt in this year's class are Ben Curtis (Kent State, men's golf), Herb Deromedi (Central Michigan, football), Wayne Embry (Miami, men's basketball), Karen Fitzpatrick (Ball State, field hockey) and Bob Nichols (Toledo, men's basketball).

"I am extremely proud that we are reinstating the MAC Hall of Fame, which was originally started by former MAC Commissioner Jim Lessig. Our Hall of Fame is a testament to the achievement of those that have competed in this great conference," said Dr. Jon Steinbrecher, MAC Commissioner.