Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
D.J. Cooper Named To Lou Henson All-America Team

Cooper is a finalist for the 2013 Lou Henson Award

March 25, 2013

2013 Lou Henson All-America Release

ATHENS, Ohio - In recognition of his stellar senior season, Ohio University guard D.J. Cooper was named to the Lou Henson All-America Team Monday. The award recognizes the top mid-major college basketball players in the country.

Rather than assemble a first team, second team, third team and honorable mention; the Lou Henson All-America team is one squad consisting of 25 players. Cooper also is a finalist for the 2013 Lou Henson Award, given to the nation's top mid-major player.

Cooper, one of the most decorated players in the history of Ohio men's basketball, recently wrapped up an outstanding senior season with the Bobcats. The 2013 MAC Player of the Year ranked seventh in the nation in assists per game (7.1) and led the `Cats with 14.1 points and 2.0 steals per contest. He led the team in assists in 31-of-34 games on the year and posted at least 10 assists on eight occasions.

On Jan. 5 against Marshall, Cooper broke the Ohio single-game school record with 17 assists and tied the MAC all-time mark for assists in a game.

For his career, Cooper has recorded the most assists in the history of the Mid-American Conference and is Ohio's all-time leader in assists (934), steals (327), 3-pointers made (274), games started (139) and games played (143). Cooper also ranks fourth all-time at Ohio in points (2,075).

His 934 assists are the 12th-most in the history of Division I college basketball. He also ranks 19th on the all-time NCAA Division I steals list. Cooper is the only player in the history of Division I college basketball to post 2,000 points, 900 assists, 500 rebounds and 300 steals in a career.

A three-time All-MAC First Team selection and the 2012 MAC Tournament Most Valuable Player, Cooper has garnered All-America recognition from multiple outlets in his career, including CollegeInsider.com (2011, 2012) and CollegeHoops.net (2011). He was named to the Lute Olson All-America Team in 2012.


2013 Lou Henson All-America Team
Travis Bader - Oakland
Billy Baron - Canisius
Jerrelle Benimon - Towson
Tommy Brenton - Stony Brook
Ryan Broekhoff - Valparaiso
Isaiah Canaan - Murray State
Jackie Carmichael - Illinois State
Will Cherry - Montana
Ian Clark - Belmont
Jake Cohen - Davidson
D.J. Cooper - Ohio
Matthew Dellavedova - Saint Mary's
James Ennis - Long Beach
Juan'ya Green - Niagara
Tyler Haws - BYU
Lamont Jones - Iona
Jake Odum - Indiana State
Jamal Olasewere - LIU-Brooklyn
Zeke Marshall - Akron
Ray McCallum - Detroit
Doug McDermott - Creighton
Mike Muscala - Bucknell
Augustine Rubit - South Alabama
Taylor Smith - Stephen F. Austin
Nate Wolters - South Dakota State