Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Jim Christian Named NABC District 14 Coach of the Year

Christian garnered NABC All-District accolades for the first time since 2004.

March 29, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio - Ohio University men’s basketball head coach Jim Christian has been named the NABC Division I District 14 Coach of the Year, the National Association of Basketball Coaches announced Friday.

NABC all-district coaching honors are voted on by each district’s group of head coaches.

It marks the second time Christian has earned the honor, as the Bethpage, N.Y., native also received District 14 Coach of the Year accolades at Kent State in 2004. Christian was named MAC Coach of the Year on two occasions (2006, 2008) during his time with the Golden Flashes.

The Bobcats have not been represented by an NABC All-District Coach since 1970, when Jim Snyder took home the honor.

The all-time winningest head coach in Mid-American Conference history (90-30, .750), Christian guided the Bobcats to a share of the 2013 MAC regular season title. It was the team’s first regular season conference crown in 19 seasons.

The Bobcats won 14 conference games for the fifth time in school history and the first time when the league schedule has included 16 games rather than 18. Ohio posted seven conference road wins for the first time since 1985-86 and finished 7-1 in MAC road contests for the first time in program history.

The Bobcats started the season 6-0 in conference games for the first time since 1973-74 and swept the MAC West Division for the first time since divisional play began in 1997-98.

Ohio reached the 20-win plateau for the 14th time in program history and advanced to the MAC Tournament title game for the third time in the past four years.



District 1: Joe Mihalich, Niagara
District 2: Jim Larranaga, Miami
District 3: Chris Holtmann, Gardner-Webb
District 4: Jim Crews, St. Louis
District 5: John Thompson III, Georgetown
District 6: Michael White, Louisiana Tech
District 7: Tom Crean, Indiana
District 8: Bruce Weber, Kansas State
District 9: Mark Few, Gonzaga
Co-District 10: Matt Brady, James Madison
Co-District 10: Bill Coen, Northeastern
District 11: Donnie Tyndall, Southern Mississippi
District 12: Jim Molinari, Western Illinois
Co-District 13: Tommy Amaker, Harvard
Co-District 13: Dave Paulsen, Bucknell
District 14: Jim Christian, Ohio
District 15: Cy Alexander, North Carolina A&T
Co-District 16: Greg McDermott, Creighton
Co-District 16: Gregg Marshall, Wichita State
District 17: Steve Alford, New Mexico
District 18: Tim O’Shea, Bryant
District 19: Jeff Neubauer, Eastern Kentucky
District 20: Dana Altman, Oregon
District 21: Billy Donovan, Florida
District 22: Bob McKillop, Davidson
District 23: Danny Kaspar, Stephen F. Austin
District 24: Kermit Davis, Middle Tennessee State