Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Men's Basketball Team Honored by State Senate

Some of the players and staff posing with the resolution in the Statehouse Rotunda

Ohio Men's Basketball Honored by State Senate Photo Gallery

May 11, 2010

Athens, Ohio - The Ohio Senate honored the Ohio University men's basketball team this afternoon in Columbus.

Senator Jimmy Stewart and Representative Debbie Phillips honored the team with a copy of the recently-drafted resolution which was bestowed upon the team for capturing the 2010 Mid-American Conference Championship and advancing in the NCAA Tournament.

Members of the basketball team, along with the coaching staff, Ohio President Roderick J. McDavis, Ph. D. and Director of Athletics Jim Schaus were recognized by the Senate minutes after convening for their 1:30 p.m. session.

The Bobcats, a No. 14 seed in the NCAA Tournament, upset the heavily-favored and nationally-ranked Georgetown Hoyas in the first round of the Big Dance. It marked the first time that the Green & white moved on to the second round since the field expanded to its current format back in 1985.

Ohio advanced to the NCAA's after capturing their fifth MAC Tournament title with four victories in as many games against higher seeds.