Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Tabbed to Win MAC, Offutt and Cooper Picked First Team

D.J. Cooper and Walter Offutt were each named First Team All-MAC this morning.

Oct. 30, 2012

ATHENS, Ohio - The Ohio University Men's Basketball Team was selected to win the Mid-American Conference Tournament, as well as the East Division as the league released its preseason poll this morning. Seniors D.J. Cooper and Walter Offutt were named Preseason All-MAC.

Cooper earned All-MAC First Team honors last season and was also a Cousy Award Finalist, Lute Olson All-America Team selection, and a NABC Division I All-District 14 Second Team choice.

The Chicago native was named the 2012 MAC Tournament MVP after averaging 19.7 points and 6.7 assists for the Bobcats. He broke the Ohio career mark for assists and needs one more steal to hold the Bobcat career mark in that category. Cooper became the first two-time All-MAC First Team selection from Ohio since 2009 after his performance last season.

Offutt earned a spot on the NCAA Midwest Region All-Tournament Team and garnered honorable mention All-MAC nods last season. The redshirt senior finished among the top 15 in the MAC in scoring at 12.4 points per game and fourth in the league with 57 steals, an average of 1.5 per game.

In the NCAA Tournament, Offutt averaged 19.3 points while shooting 61.8 percent from the field and 58.8 (10-of-17) percent from beyond the arc. His 26-point outburst against No. 1 North Carolina in the Sweet 16 was a career-high for the Indianapolis product.

The Bobcats advanced to the postseason for a third year in a row, and fourth time in five years, making it to the Sweet 16 last season. Ohio’s two postseason wins last year increase its total to 13, adding to its lead over all other MAC schools.

The Green and White have won 48 games over the past two years, its most since the 1993-94 and 1994-95 campaigns. Also, the 70 wins over the last three years are the most in program history. The Bobcats also achieved their first winning record in true road games over consecutive seasons since the mid-1980’s.

The Bobcats play their lone exhibition this Saturday at 2 p.m. when they host Mercyhurst. The regular season opener is Nov. 10 vs. Portland. That same evening, last year's Sweet 16 run will be recognized. Ohio Basketball season tickets can be purchased for as low as $1.50 a game! To order, click here or call 800-575-2287.

MAC East
1. Ohio – 141 Votes
2. Akron – 122 Votes
3. Kent State – 89 Votes
4. Buffalo – 68 Votes
5. Bowling Green – 53 Votes
6. Miami – 31 Votes

MAC West
1. Toledo – 143 Votes
2. Eastern Michigan – 118 Votes
3. Western Michigan – 88 Votes
4. Ball State – 74 Votes
5. Northern Illinois – 46 Votes
6. Central Michigan – 35 Votes

FirstEnergy MAC Men’s Basketball Tournament Winner: Ohio (18), Akron (6)

East Division Preseason All-MAC
Zeke Marshall, Akron
A’uston Calhoun, Bowling Green
Javon McCrea, Buffalo
Walter Offutt, Ohio
D.J. Cooper, Ohio

West Division Preseason All-MAC
Jesse Berry, Ball State
Abdel Nader, Northern Illinois
Rian Pearson, Toledo
Julius Brown, Toledo
Nate Hutcheson, Western Michigan