OHIOBOBCATS.COM
Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Spring Practice Report - Day 12

OHIOBOBCATS.COM Matt Weller
OHIOBOBCATS.COM
Matt Weller
OHIOBOBCATS.COM

April 17, 2012

ATHENS, Ohio - The Ohio University football team took part in its 12th practice of spring ball on Monday. Following practice, OhioBobcats.com examined the Bobcats special teams.

In 2011, Matt Weller connected on 25-of-34 field goal attempts and hit on 48-of-49 extra points, finishing the year with a team-best 123 points. Following the season, he was named MAC Special Teams Player of the Year, All-MAC Second Team and Phil Steele Postseason All-MAC First Team. In addition, Weller won five MAC East Speical Teams Player of the Week honors.

This season Weller returns to handle the kicking duties, but the Cats will be in search of a replacement for graduating punter Paul Hershey. Redshirt freshman Grant Venham is in the mix to replace Hershey.

Following practice both Weller and Venham stopped by to speak with OhioBobcats.com about the Ohio special teams unit.

Ohio Football Spring Practice Schedule
Tuesday, March 27
Wednesday, March 28
Friday, March 30
Saturday, March 31
Monday, April 2
Wednesday, April 4
Friday, April 6 - (Scrimmage #1)
Monday, April 9
Wednesday, April 11
Friday, April 13
Saturday, April 14 - (Scrimmage #2)
Monday, April 16 - 3:25 p.m.
Wednesday, April 18 - 3:25 p.m.
Thursday, April 19 - 7:30 p.m.
Friday, April 20 - Alumni Golf Outing - 11 a.m.
Saturday, April 21 - Spring Game - 2 p.m.