Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Football Schedules Kansas and Cincinnati

Ohio Football will welcome two BCS schools to Peden Stadium.

April 19, 2012

ATHENS, Ohio - The Ohio University football team announced today the addition of a home-and-home series with Kansas and Cincinnati. The Bobcats will faceoff against the Jayhawks in 2016 and 2017. In 2018 and 2020, Ohio will take on the Bearcats.

Ohio will travel to face Kansas on Sept. 10, 2016. The Jayhawks will then make their first-ever trip to Athens on Sept. 16, 2017 to take on the Bobcats inside Peden Stadium. On Sept. 22, 2018, Ohio will head to Cincinnati to face the Bearcats. Cincinnati will then travel to Ohio on Sept. 12, 2020 for its first visit to Peden Stadium since Oct. 10, 1981.

"These are two excellent series for our fans and the strategic growth of our football program," said Director of Athletics Jim Schaus. "Playing these types of series has been a part of our long range scheduling plan. It is always exciting to bring two schools from the Big 12 Conference and the Big East Conference to Peden Stadium."

Both Kansas and Cincinnati have appearances in BCS Bowls with the Jayhawks appearing in the 2008 Orange Bowl, while the Bearcats competed in 2009 Orange Bowl and the 2010 Sugar Bowl.

"Kansas and Cincinnati are two established programs," said head coach Frank Solich. "For us to have the opportunity to play two schools that compete against outstanding competition indicates that this program is headed in the right direction."

Ohio has only played Kansas once in school history where it defeated the Jayhawks 30-15 back on Oct. 17, 1967. Ohio and Cincinnati have not played one another since the 1981 campaign. In that contest, Ohio dropped a 19-9 decision to the Bearcats at home.

Ohio and Cincinnati have played each other 50 times with the series being tied at 23-23-4. The Bobcats and Bearcats faced off 33 times in between 1913 and 1952 - a span of 40 years. Neither team played each other in 1943 or 1944 because of World War II. The series picked back up in 1968 with the two teams playing every year from 1968 to 1979.