Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
ON THE CLOCK: Ohio Football Has a Strong NFL Draft History

Travis Carrie

May 8, 2014

ATHENS, Ohio - Ohio University football will look to add to its professional football draft history this week when the National Football League holds its 2014 NFL Draft Thursday thru Saturday, May 8-10, at New York's Radio City Music Hall.

Both ESPN and the NFL Network will televise live draft coverage all three days with the first round taking place Thursday (starting at 8 p.m. ET), followed by the second and third rounds on Friday (starting at 7 p.m.). Rounds 4-7 will be held Saturday (starting at 12 p.m.).

Ohio has had 31 players selected in the NFL Draft since 1936. Over the past six seasons, the Bobcats have had five players drafted. No current Mid-American Conference institution has had more players drafted over the past six years.

ESPN NFL Draft Analyst Mel Kiper Jr., has former Ohio University offensive lineman Ryan McGrath (No. 28), cornerback Travis Carrie (No. 44) and running back Beau Blankenship (No. 63) all ranked on his list of prospects heading into this year's Draft.

In addition, fellow ESPN NFL Draft Analyst Todd McShay projects Carrie being selected in-between rounds four through seven.

The last time Ohio had two had players selected in the NFL Draft was back in 1972 when Al Benton and David Green were taken by the Miami Dolphins and Cincinnati Bengals, respectively.

Year - Name Pos. Round Overall Team
1936 - Art Lewis T 1st 9th New York Giants
1939 - Len Janiak B 6th 45th Brooklyn Dodgers
1939 - Chet Adams T 12th 103rd Cleveland Rams
1943 - John Fekete B 14th 123rd Brooklyn Dodgers
1943 - Joe Riccardi T 26th 270th Washington Redskins
1946 - John Kerns T 13th 137th Philadelphia Eagles
1948 - Gene Ruszkowski T 5th 44th Los Angeles Rams
1954 - Lou Sawchik E 24th 278th Chicago Cardinals
1958 - Les Carney B 15th 178th Baltimore Colts
1960 - Rich Grecni C 13th 152nd Cleveland Browns
1961 - Bob Brooks FB 9th 122nd Detroit Lions
1962 - Ted Stute E 12th 165th Cleveland Browns
1962 - Allen Miller G 17th 225th Washington Redskins
1963 - Charley Nickoson T 6th 78th Washington Redskins
1963 - Dick Schultz T 13th 176th San Francisco 49ers
1965 - John Frick E 9th 113th New York Giants
1965 - Don Hoovler LB 6th New York Jets (AFL)
1969 - Frank Peters T-C 9th 233rd New York Jets
1969 - Bob Houmard RB 14th 342nd Pittsburgh Steelers
1970 - Todd Snyder WR 3rd 65th Atlanta Falcons
1970 - Cleve Bryant DB 11th 271st Denver Broncos
1972 - Al Benton T 4th 103rd Miami Dolphins
1972 - David Green K 17th 418th Cincinnati Bengals
1973 - Dave Juenger WR 14th 345th Chicago Bears
1976 - Mike Green K 16th 450th Miami Dolphins
2002 - Dave Zastudil P 4th 112th Baltimore Ravens
2008 - Landon Cohen DT 7th 216th Detroit Lions
2009 - Michael Mitchell DB 2nd 47th Oakland Raiders
2010 - Taylor Price WR 3rd 97th New England Patriots
2012 - LaVon Brazill WR 6th 206th Indianapolis Colts
2013 - Eric Herman OL 7th 225th New York Giants