Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Football Announces 2013 Captains

Senior Tyler Tettleton was named captain for the second-consecutive season.

May 15, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio - Seniors Travis Carrie, Beau Blankenship, Donte Foster, Keith Moore and Tyler Tettleton were named captains for the 2013 Ohio University football team in a vote conducted by their teammates.

Carrie (Antioch, Calif.) and Tettleton (Norman, Okla.) were named captains for the second-consecutive season.

In 2012, Tettleton became the first Ohio quarterback to throw for 2,500 yards-or-more in back-to-back seasons. He finished the year by completing 62.1 percent of his passes (228-of-367) for 2,844 yards, 18 touchdowns and just four interceptions. He concluded the year by earning Co-Offensive Most Valuable Player honors at the Advocare V100 Independence Bowl, leading the Bobcats to a convincing 45-14 victory over Louisiana-Monroe.

Carrie returns to the captain role after he was sidelined for the entire 2012 season following an injury in the preseason. Prior to his injury, Carrie was tabbed as one of the nation's top defensive backs in 2012 as he was named to the Preseason Thorpe and College Football Performance Awards Watch Lists.

Blankenship (Norman, Okla.) was selected as a captain after he was named to the All-Mid-American Conference Second Team and Phil Steele All-MAC First Team following a breakout 2012 campaign. During his junior season, Blankenship rushed for a single-season record 1,604 yards on the ground. He also rushed for 15 touchdowns, four of which came in the Independence Bowl, which tied the single game record as he went on to earn Co-Offensive MVP honors with his high school teammate Tettleton.

Foster (Guthrie, Okla.) received captain honors after he led the Bobcats with 59 receptions, 659 yards receiving and eight touchdowns. His eight touchdowns were tied for fifth all-time, while his 59 catches rank fifth all-time in single season history.

Moore (Grove City, Ohio) earned the captain's nod after leading the team with 98 tackles as a junior. The former walk-on was one of the Bobcats' most consistent players in 2012 as he was one of only seven players on the team that started in every game. The former walk-on closed the 2012 season with a monster game in the Independence Bowl as he totaled nine tackles, two tackles for loss and one sack en route to earning Defensive Most Valuable Player honors.

Ohio opens its 2013 season on Sept. 1 at Louisville in front of a nationally-televised audience on ESPN. Kickoff is set for 3:30 p.m. Season tickets for Ohio Football can be purchased through the athletics ticket office by calling 800-575-CATS (2287). Fans can also purchase tickets online by going to www.ohiobobcats.com.