Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Seven Bobcats Earn Phil Steele Preseason All-MAC Honors

Beau Blankenship

June 6, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio - Seven Ohio University football players were named to the 2013 Phil Steele Preseason Mid-American Conference All-League team. The Preseason All-MAC team will appear in the magazine which is set to hit newsstands on June 18.

Seniors Tyler Tettleton (Norman, Okla./quarterback), Beau Blankenship (Norman, Okla./running back), John Prior (Portsmouth, Ohio/offensive line) and Travis Carrie (Antioch, Calif./cornerback) each were named All-MAC Second Team. Fellow seniors Jon Lechner (Omaha, Neb./offensive line) and Keith Moore (Grove City, Ohio/linebacker) also received all-league honors as they were named Third Team. Senior Donte Foster (Guthrie, Okla./wide receiver) was the seventh player from Ohio to receive Preseason All-MAC honors from Phil Steele as he earned Fourth Team recognition.

Tettleton earned the Second Team preseason honor following another impressive season under center for the Bobcats. In 2012, Tettleton became the first Ohio quarterback to throw for 2,500 yards-or-more in back-to-back seasons. He finished the year by completing 62.1 percent of his passes (228-of-367) for 2,844 yards, 18 touchdowns and just four interceptions. He concluded the year by earning Co-Offensive Most Valuable Player honors at the Advocare V100 Independence Bowl, leading the Bobcats to a convincing 45-14 victory over Louisiana-Monroe.

Blankenship garnered Second Team accolades after he was named to the All-Mid-American Conference Second Team and Phil Steele All-MAC First Team following a breakout 2012 campaign. During his junior season, Blankenship rushed for a single-season school record 1,604 yards on the ground. He also rushed for 15 touchdowns, four of which came in the Independence Bowl, which tied the single bowl game record as he went on to earn Co-Offensive MVP honors with his high school teammate, Tettleton.

Prior earned the Second Team nod following a strong 2012 campaign. Prior played in every game and appeared in 710 total plays throughout the season, scoring 1,310 points. He also graded out at a 1.85 on the year, while recording 51 pancakes, 24 decleaters (team high) and 75 knockdowns.

Carrie was named to the Second Team despite being sidelined for the entire 2012 season due to an injury in the preseason. Prior to his injury, Carrie was tabbed as one of the nation's top defensive backs in 2012 as he was named to the Preseason Thorpe and College Football Performance Awards Watch Lists.

Lechner received Third Team recognition after he played in 12 of Ohio's 13 games during the 2012 season. He appeared in 604 plays during the season and graded out at a 1.86. Recorded 46 pancakes, five decleaters, and 51 knockdowns.

Moore took home Third Team honors following a 2012 season where he led the team with 98 tackles as a junior. The former walk-on was one of the Bobcats' most consistent players in 2012 as he was one of only seven players on the team that started in every game. Moore closed the 2012 season with a monster game in the Independence Bowl as he totaled nine tackles, two tackles for loss and one sack en route to earning Defensive Most Valuable Player honors.

Foster captured Fourth Team honors after he led the Bobcats with 59 receptions, 659 yards receiving and eight touchdowns. His eight touchdowns were tied for fifth all-time in school history, while his 59 catches ranked fifth all-time in single season history.

Ohio opens the 2013 season on Sunday, Sept. 1 against the University of Louisville inside Papa John's Cardinal Stadium. The game is set to kickoff at 3:30 p.m. and will be aired on ESPN.