Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Blankenship and Tettleton Selected to CFPA Offensive Watch List

June 10, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio - Ohio University football seniors Beau Blankenship and Tyler Tettleton were each named to the 2013 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) Offensive Watch List.

Blankenship (Norman, Okla.) was selected to the Watch List for the CFPA Running Back Trophy, while Tettleton (Norman, Okla.) was named to the CFPA Quarterback Trophy Watch List.

"Congratulations to Tyler Tettleton and Beau Blankenship on earning spots on the 2013 CFPA Offensive Awards Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Head Coach Frank Solich has excellent returning performers at quarterback and running back for 2013."

Blankenship was one of four players from the Mid-American Conference to be named to the preseason running back trophy watch list. Tettleton, along with Northern Illinois' Jordan Lynch and Toledo's Terrance Owens, were the only quarterbacks from the MAC to earn the preseason recognition from the CFPA.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and 21 have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

In 2012, Blankenship garnered Second Team accolades after he was named to the All-Mid-American Conference Second Team and Phil Steele All-MAC First Team following a breakout 2012 campaign. During his junior season, Blankenship rushed for a single-season school record 1,604 yards on the ground. He also rushed for 15 touchdowns, four of which came in the Independence Bowl, which tied the single bowl game record as he went on to earn Co-Offensive MVP honors with his high school teammate, Tettleton.

Last season, Tettleton earned the Second Team preseason honor following another impressive year under center for the Bobcats. He became the first Ohio quarterback to throw for 2,500 yards-or-more in back-to-back seasons. He finished the year by completing 62.1 percent of his passes (228-of-367) for 2,844 yards, 18 touchdowns and just four interceptions. Tettleton concluded the year by earning Co-Offensive Most Valuable Player honors at the Advocare V100 Independence Bowl, leading the Bobcats to a convincing 45-14 victory over Louisiana-Monroe.

Both Blankenship and Tettleton will serve as captains this year along with fellow seniors Travis Carrie, Donte' Foster and Keith Moore. In addition, both were named to the Phil Steele 2013 Preseason All-MAC team.