Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Blankenship Adds CFPA All-Purpose Performer to List of Preseason Accolades

Daz'mond Patterson made an immediate impact for the Bobcats in 2012.

July 2, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio - Senior running back Beau Blankenship and sophomore kick return specialist Daz'mond Patterson were each named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) Watch List this past week.

Blankenship (Norman, Okla.), who has already seen a earned a number of preseason accolades, was added to the CFPA's All-Purpose Performer Watch List while Patterson (Plant City, Fla.) was named to the Watch List for the CFPA's Kick Returner Trophy.

In 2012, Blankenship garnered Second Team accolades after he was named to the All-Mid-American Conference Second Team and Phil Steele All-MAC First Team following a breakout 2012 campaign. During his junior season, Blankenship rushed for a single-season school record 1,604 yards on the ground. He also rushed for 15 touchdowns, four of which came in the Independence Bowl, which tied the single bowl game record as he went on to earn Co-Offensive MVP honors with his high school teammate, Tyler Tettleton (Norman, Okla.).

As a true freshman in 2012, Patterson made a strong impact for the Bobcats as he led the team in kickoff return yards, finishing the year with 582 (24.2 avg.). He also posted a 100-yard kickoff return in week six against Buffalo. His 100-yard kickoff return for touchdown helped Ohio rally from an early 14-0 deficit to the Bulls and helped him earn Mid-American Conference East Division Player of the Week honors. In addition, Patterson rushed for 195 yards on the year (5.7 avg.).

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

The full list of 2013 CFPA recipients will be announced on January 8, 2014.