Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Blankenship Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

Beau Blankenship

July 8, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio - Ohio University football running back Beau Blankenship was selected to the Watch List for the 77th Annual Maxwell Football Club Award on Monday.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell's contributions to the game of football were extensive, including as a player, a sportswriter and an official.

Blankenship (Norman, Okla.), who has already seen a earned a number of preseason accolades, becomes the first Ohio player to be named to the Maxwell Award Watch List since Kalvin McRae back in 2007. He is also one of just seven players from the Mid-American Conference to be named to the Maxwell Award Watch List, joining Dri Archer (Kent State), David Fluellen (Toledo), Jordan Lynch (NIU), Branden Oliver (Buffalo), Zurion Tipton (Central Michigan) and Keith Wenning (Ball State).

In 2012, Blankenship garnered Second Team accolades after he was named to the All-Mid-American Conference Second Team and Phil Steele All-MAC First Team following a breakout 2012 campaign. During his junior season, Blankenship rushed for a single-season school record 1,604 yards on the ground. He also rushed for 15 touchdowns, four of which came in the Independence Bowl, which tied the single bowl game record as he went on to earn Co-Offensive MVP honors with his high school teammate, Tyler Tettleton (Norman, Okla.).

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

Ohio opens the 2013 season on Sunday, Sept. 1 against the University of Louisville inside Papa John's Cardinal Stadium. The game is set to kickoff at 3:30 p.m. and will be aired on ESPN.