Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Carrie Selected to the Thorpe Watch List

Travis Carrie

July 13, 2012

ATHENS, Ohio - Senior defensive back Travis Carrie is among 35 players nationally who were selected to the 2012 Preseason Watch List for the Jim Thorpe Award on Friday. The Thorpe Award is given to the best defensive back in college football.

As a junior in 2011, Carrie led the Bobcats with four interceptions. He also totaled team-bests of 13 pass breakups and 17 passes defensed. In addition, Carrie finished eighth on the team in tackles, totaling 49 stops.

Following the year, the California native was named All-MAC Second Team, Phil Steele All-MAC Second Team and earned CollegeSportsMadness.com All-MAC First Team honors.

Carrie also starred for the Bobcats on special teams as he averaged a team-best 12.5 yards per punt return and had the Bobcats' only punt return for a touchdown during his junior campaign. The California native returned the punt for a touchdown during Ohio's season-opener at New Mexico State and would earn MAC Special Teams Player of the Week honors the following week.

Earlier this summer, Carrie was among 30 individuals across the country placed on the Watch List for the 2012 College Football Performance Awards Punt Returner Trophy. He was also named as one of the Bobcats' four captains earlier this spring.

The Thorpe Award is named after history's greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe, and is presented by the Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City. Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football at which he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball. The 2012 Olympics mark the 100-year anniversary of Thorpe winning gold in the decathlon and pentathlon at the Stockholm Olympics.

The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compiles a list of 30-40 players each year. The list is not final and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses. The Thorpe Award winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on December 6, 2012 on ESPN.

The Jim Thorpe Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, www.NCFAA.org.