Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Herman Named to the Lombardi Award Watch List

Eric Herman

July 17, 2012

ATHENS, Ohio - Ohio University senior offensive lineman Eric Herman has been named to the 43rd Annual Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List. The Rotary Lombardi Award is given to the nation's top college lineman or linebacker each year.

Herman (Oregon, Ohio) becomes the second-consecutive Bobcat offensive lineman to be selected to the Lombardi Preseason Watch List. Prior to the 2011 season, former offensive lineman Joe Flading was selected to the Lombardi Award Watch List. Herman joins teammates Matt Weller (Twinsburg, Ohio) and Travis Carrie (Antioch, Calif.), who were named to the Groza and Thorpe Preseason Watch Lists, respectively.

The 6 foot, 4 inch lineman receives the preseason honor after anchoring an offensive line, which helped pave the way for nine 200-yard rushing performances throughout the 2011 season, including a season-best 297-yard rushing effort at Central Michigan. He also helped protect quarterback Tyler Tettleton (Norman, Okla.) as he went on to become the first Ohio signal-caller in school history to throw for over 3,000 yards.

Herman logged a team-best 881 plays and posted team-bests in pancake blocks (102.0), knockdowns (120.0) and declaters (18.0), while grading out at 1.83. During his three years on the gridiron, Herman has been a model of the consistency for the Bobcats, making 38-consecutive starts.

Following the year, Herman earned All-MAC Second Team, Phil Steele All-MAC Second Team and Collegesportsmadness.com All-MAC First Team honors.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to: 1) offensive or defensive end-to-end down linemen who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball and 2) linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. All candidates must be eligible to play college sports under the rules and regulations of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA).

The candidates earned a place on the Official Watch List by: earning All-American honors last season; being named last season to their respective all-conference first team as determined by the conference's head coaches; being projected to be an All-American or first team all-conference player for the coming season; or by nomination approved by the nominations committee.

The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List is a reference tool for the Selection Committee. It will be periodically revised until the first round of voting is completed. The first round of voting determines the Top 25 Quarter finalists for 2012. The second round of voting will determine the final 7 semi-finalists or "Seven Blocks of Granite". The third round of voting will determine the "four- finalists from the "Seven Blocks of Granite". The fourth and final round of voting will determine the winner of The 43rd Rotary Lombardi Award which will be announced on national television live in "prime-time" 8-9 PM (CST) Wednesday, December 5, 2012 at The Hobby Center in Houston, TX (network to be determined).

Ohio Preseason Watch List Recipients
Matt Weller - Lou Groza Award
Travis Carrie - Jim Thorpe Award
Eric Herman - Lombardi Award