Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Tettleton Selected to the Walter Camp Award Watch List

Tyler Tettleton

July 19, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio - Ohio University football senior quarterback Tyler Tettleton is one of the fifty "players to watch" for the 2013 Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year award, the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

Tettleton (Norman, Okla.) is also one of just four players from the Mid-American Conference that were selected to the preseason watch list. He joins Jordan Lynch from Northern Illinois, Dri Archer from Kent State and David Fluellen from Toledo.

"We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation," Foundation president James Monico said. "This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football."

Tettleton received the preseason recognition following another impressive year under center for the Bobcats. In 2012, he became the first Ohio quarterback to throw for 2,500 yards-or-more in back-to-back seasons. He finished the year by completing 62.1 percent of his passes (228-of-367) for 2,844 yards, 18 touchdowns and just four interceptions.

He concluded the year by earning Co-Offensive Most Valuable Player honors at the Advocare V100 Independence Bowl, leading the Bobcats to a convincing 45-14 victory over Louisiana-Monroe.

Heading into the 2013 season, Tettleton currently holds nine Ohio University football career records, including the school standard for passing yards (6,274), most completions (504) and most touchdowns (46). He has also directed the Bobcats to back-to-back bowl victories.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, December 12. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on January 11, 2014 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Ohio opens the 2013 season on Sunday, Sept. 1 against the University of Louisville inside Papa John's Cardinal Stadium. The game is set to kickoff at 3:30 p.m. and will be aired on ESPN.