Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Tettleton Nominated For Geico Play of the Year

Tyler Tettleton

Oct. 24, 2012

CHICAGO - Ohio junior quarterback Tyler Tettleton's reception touchdown on a trick play vs. Akron on October 13 is nominated for the GEICO Play of the Year. Each week, fans vote for the GEICO Play of the Year and the winner will be announced on GEICO Best of College Football 2012 on CBS Nov. 23 at 1:30 p.m. ET.

In addition to recognizing the season's top plays, the one-hour CBS special relives the season's greatest moments, players and traditions. The show also marks the culmination of the GEICO "Best of 2012" Football Tour, an interactive fan experience that visits 30 marquee games throughout the football season.

Each week for eight weeks, four incredible college football plays will be nominated as the Play of the Year on the GEICO Best of College Football Facebook page (facebook.com/bestofcollegefootball). The eight weekly winners will then faceoff in a week of finals voting from Nov. 4 through 11 to determine the 2012 GEICO Play of the Year.

Early in the first quarter tied at zero, Ohio decided to mix it up with a trick play to catch Akron off-guard. Tettleton took the snap at the Akron 39-yard line and pitched it to running back Beau Blankenship who took off to the left. Blankenship flipped the ball to wide receiver Landon Smith who heaved a pass to Tettleton who was all alone near the end zone. The Bobcats got a scare from the Zips, but were able to hold on and remain undefeated with a 34-28 win.

Tettleton's touchdown reception off a trick play is competing against three other plays from week seven, an ankle-breaking long touchdown run by Michigan's Denard Robinson, a juke-filled touchdown reception by California's Keenan Allen and a blocked punt and return touchdown by USC's Anthony Brown.

To watch and vote for Tettleton or any of the other week seven highlight plays, visit www.facebook.com/BestofCollegeFootball. Fans can vote once a day. Week seven voting is now open and ends Sunday, Oct. 28, at 11:59 a.m. CT.