Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio's Braunstein Named Lou Groza Award Semifinalist

Nov. 6, 2007

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla.-The Palm Beach County Sports Institute and Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced Ohio kicker Michael Braunstein (Gilbert, Az.) as one of 20 semifinalists for the 2007 Lou Groza Place-Kicker Award.


Three finalists will be announced Nov. 19 and honored at the Dec. 4 banquet. The winner will be announced Dec. 6 at the College Football Award Show in Orlando.


The Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award recognizes the top place-kicker in NCAA Division I-A football. Voters for the award include Division I-A head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters, conference representatives, professional kickers, and previous Groza Award finalists.


The Ohio kicker has made 16 of 19 field goal attempts and all 31 of his extra points this season. He also boasted the longest field goal streak (20 dating back to last season at Washington) in the nation midway through the 2007 campaign. In all, he has converted his last 68 extra-point attempts.


The 5-6 kicker currently stands first in the Ohio record books in most field goals in a game (four), most field goals attempted in a game (five), extra-point percentage (100.0), consecutive field goals made (12) and most field goals made in a season (16). He needs five field goals attempted to secure the school record of most field goals attempted in a season (23, Gary Homer-1975) and has a chance to break the school mark for highest field goal percentage in a season (84.6 percent-11-13, Jim Delverne-1989).


To top it off, the graduate student has made six tackles on the kickoff team for the Bobcats, a unit that leads the Mid-American Conference in kickoff coverage (20.2 yards per return).


For his career, he has made 29 of 38 field goal attempts (76.3 percent) and has scored 162 points.


Other semifinalists include North Carolina's Connor Barth, Georgia Tech's Travis Bell, Ohio's Michael Braunstein, Boise State's Kyle Brotzman, Virginia Tech's Jud Dunlevy, Oregon's Matt Evensen, North Carolina State's Steven Hauschka, Tennessee's Daniel Lincoln, UTEP's Jose Martinez, West Virginia's Pat McAfee, Wisconsin's Taylor Mehlhaff, Ohio State's Ryan Pretorius, Illinois' Jason Reda, Utah's Louis Sakoda, Indiana's Austin Starr, Wake Forest's Sam Swank, UAB's Swayze Waters and Arizona State's Thomas Weber.




Jason Corriher is the football contact for the Ohio media relations office. He can be reached via email at corriher@ohio.edu.