Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Wrestling Falls at No. 18 Kent State, 23-11

Cody Walters improved to 24-2 with his win on Friday night.

Jan. 18, 2013

KENT, Ohio - The No. 28 Ohio University wrestling team (4-4; 2-2 MAC) dropped a 23-11 decision to No. 18 Kent State Friday night inside the Memorial Athletic and Convocation Center, suffering its first defeat in dual competition since Dec. 1.

Redshirt freshman Cody Walters (Macedonia, Ohio) gave the Bobcats' an early 3-0 lead as he defeated Sam Wheeler at 174. With the win, Walters improved to 24-2 on the year. The Flashes fought right back by posting wins at 184 and 197 to take a 9-3 advantage.

At heavyweight, junior Jeremy Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) cut the flashes lead to three (9-6) after he posted a 2-0 triumph over Keith Witt. Johnson's victory was his sixth-consecutive win and his 12th triumph in the last 14 bouts.

KSU responded by winning its next two bouts to open up, winning by tech fall and by sudden victory to open up a 17-6 lead. The Bobcats would not go away as freshman Kagan Squire (Wadsworth, Ohio) defeated Lukas Kern to close within eight.

The Flashes would go on to close out the match strong as it claimed the final three bouts to secure the win.

Ohio returns to action on Sunday at 2 p.m. as it travels to Bloomsburg.

Kent State 26, Ohio 11 - Results
125: Steve Mitcheff (Kent State) won by tech fall over Tyler Heminger (Ohio) 6:43 21-3.
133: Mackenzie McGuire (Kent State) won in sudden victory 1 over Joseph Munos (Ohio) 9-7.
141: Kagan Squire (Ohio) won by tech fall over Lukas Kern (Kent State) 7:00 15-0.
149: Nicholas Carr (Kent State) won by decision over Andrew Romanchik (Ohio) 8-7.
157: Tommy Sasfy (Kent State) won by decision over Spartak Chino (Ohio) 5-2.
165: Caleb Marsh (Kent State) won by decision over Harrison Hightower (Ohio) 2-1.
174: Cody Walters (Ohio) won by decision over Sam Wheeler (Kent State) 8-2.
184: Casey Newburg (Kent State) won by decision over Ryan Garringer (Ohio) 6-0.
197: Dustin Kilgore (Kent State) won by pin over Phillip Wellington (Ohio) 4:42.
285: Jeremy Johnson (Ohio) won by decision over Keith Witt (Kent State) 2-0.