Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Bobcat Wrestling Falls to Bloomsburg, 24-9

Jeremy Johnson

Jan. 20, 2013

BLOOMSBURG, Pa. - The No. 28-ranked Ohio University wrestling team fell to 0-2 on the weekend as it dropped a 24-9 decision Sunday afternoon to No. 20 Bloomsburg University inside the Nelson Fieldhouse. With the loss, Ohio fell to 4-5 on the year.

Ohio jumped out to the early lead at heavyweight thanks to a 7-2 victory by junior Jeremy Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) over Justin Grant. Johnson's victory was his seventh-consecutive win and his 13th triumph in the last 15 bouts. The win also improved Johnson's overall season mark to 24-7.

Bloomsburg fought back by winning the next two bouts to take its first lead of the match.

Freshman Kagan Squire (Wadsworth, Ohio) claimed his second straight bout of the week to pull the Bobcats back within striking distance as he defeated BU's Matthew Rappo 6-1.

The Huskies would go on to win five of the next six bouts to secure the match. Ohio's lone victory in the final six matches came from redshirt freshman Cody Walters (Macedonia, Ohio) as he posted his team-best 25th victory of the season, defeating BU's Christopher Smith, 2-0.

Ohio returns to action this Friday as it welcomes Buffalo to the Convocation Center. The match is set to begin at 7 p.m.

Bloomsburg 24, Ohio University 9
HWT: Jeremy Johnson (Ohio) won by decision over Justin Grant (Bloomsburg) 7-2
125: Sean Boylan (Bloomsburg) won by major decision over Tyler Heminger (Ohio) 11-2
133: Nick Wilcox (Bloomsburg) won by decision over Joe Munos (Ohio) 4-3
141: Kagan Squire (Ohio) won by decision over Matthew Rappo (Bloomsburg) 6-1
149: Josh Roosa (Bloomsburg) won by decision over Andrew Romanchik (Ohio) 5-2
157: Frank Hickman (Bloomsburg) won by major decision over Spartak Chino (Ohio) 18-6
165: Josh Veltre (Bloomsburg) won by decision over Harrison Hightower (Ohio) 6-5
174: Cody Walters (Ohio) won by decision over Christopher Smith (Bloomsburg) 2-0
184: Andre Petroski (Bloomsburg) won by major decision over Ryan Garringer (Ohio) 10-1
197: Richard Perry (Bloomsburg) won by decision over Phil Wellington (Ohio) 6-2