Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Upends Kent State 21-16

KeVon Powell's victory at 125 secured the Bobcats' 21-16 victory over Kent State.

Jan. 24, 2014

Photo Gallery 

ATHENS, Ohio - Senior heavyweight Jeremy Johnson registered his fourth-consecutive pin to lead the Ohio University wrestling team (7-2; 3-2 MAC) to a thrilling 21-16 come-from-behind victory over Kent State Friday night at the Convocation Center.

Ohio's win over the Golden Flashes marked its fourth-consecutive win at home this season and its seventh straight dating back to the 2012-13 campaign. The `Cats win against KSU also marked their first win over the Golden Flashes since 2005.

The Bobcats won five of the final seven matches to rally back from a 10-3 early match deficit to claim victory in front of a spirited 735 fans.

The Golden Flashes jumped out to the early lead after KSU's Tyler Small tallied a second period fall of freshman Noah Forrider (Marysville, Ohio) at 141 to open up a 6-0 advantage.

Ohio fought back at 149 thanks to Tywan Claxton's (South Euclid, Ohio) decision victory versus KSU's Kyle Bower, trimming the Flashes lead to 6-3. KSU responded by increasing its lead to 10-3 after Ian Miller registered a major decision over at 157.

The Bobcats charged back to cut the Flashes lead to one (10-9) following back-to-back decision victories by junior Harrison Hightower (Strongsville, Ohio) at 165 and sophomore Cody Walters (Macedonia, Ohio) at 174. Hightower's win was his 23rd victory on the year and his fifth triumph in his last six bouts. Walter's come-from-behind win versus Caleb Marsh improved his season mark to 5-1.

Following a loss at 184, sophomore Phil Wellington (Euclid, Ohio) picked up his 23rd win of the year, defeating Cole Baxter 3-2 and for the second time on the night Ohio cut KSU's lead to one at 13-12.

This time however, Ohio took the lead after being down one point as Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) pinned Mimmo Lytle in 2:58 to give the Bobcats their first lead of the night. Sophomore KeVon Powell (Romeoville, Ill.) clinched the team victory for the Bobcats in the following bout as he outlasted Del Vinas 9-5.

Ohio returns to action on Sunday as it heads to Buffalo. The Bobcats' dual with the Bulls is set for 1 p.m. inside UB's Alumni Arena.

141 Tyler Small (Kent State) won by pin over Noah Forrider (Ohio) 5:29; KSU 6 - Ohio 0
149 No. 149 Tywan Claxton (Ohio) won by dec. over Kyle Bauer (Kent State) 7-2: KSU 6 - Ohio 3
157 No. 6 Ian Miller (Kent State) won by major dec. over Spartak Chino (Ohio) 15-5: KSU 10 - Ohio 3
165 Harrison Hightower (Ohio) won by dec. over Tyler Buckwalter (Kent State) 9-4; KSU 10 - Ohio 6
174 No. 9 Cody Walters (Ohio) won by dec. over Caleb Marsh (Kent State) 4-2; KSU 10 - Ohio 9
184 No. 14 Sam Wheeler (Kent State) won by dec. over Ryan Garringer (Ohio) 11-5; KSU 13 - Ohio 9
197 No. 11 Phil Wellington (Ohio) won by dec. over Cole Baxter (Kent State) 3-2; KSU 13 - Ohio 12
285 No. 11 Jeremy Johnson (Ohio) won by pin over Mimmo Lytle (Kent State) 2:58; Ohio 18 - KSU 13
125 KeVon Powell (Ohio) won by dec. over Edilberto Vinas (Kent State) 9-5; Ohio 21 - KSU 13
133 No. 18 Mackenzie McGuire (Kent State) won by dec. over Kagan Squire (Ohio) 2-1; Ohio 21 - KSU 16