Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Earns a 22-18 Victory at Buffalo

OHIOBOBCATS.COM Redshirt freshman Harrison Hightower recorded his sixth pin on the year.
Redshirt freshman Harrison Hightower recorded his sixth pin on the year.

Jan. 29, 2012

BUFFALO, N.Y. - The Ohio University wrestling team (3-5; 2-3 MAC) got back in the win column with a 22-18 triumph over Buffalo Sunday afternoon on the strength of two pins and a major decision.

The Bobcats got off to a hot start as they won four of the first five bouts to take a commanding 16-3 lead. Sophomore Ryan Garringer (Downers Grove, Ill.) gave Ohio its first win of the afternoon as he earned a major decision over Zach Ward at 184, winning 11-3.

Two bouts later, sophomore Jeremy Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) put his undefeated duel record on the line against Jedd Mason. Johnson remained perfect following a pin (2:46) of Mason, improving his duel mark to 8-0. His pin of Mason was his 10th on the year and his fifth-consecutive victory.

Junior Gabe Ramos (Hopatcong, N.J.) and redshirt freshman Drew Hammer (Loveland, Ohio) followed with back-to-back wins at 125 and 133, respectively.

Buffalo fought back with two straight victories and trimmed Ohio's lead to 16-9, following victories at 141 and 149. Redshirt freshman Harrison Hightower followed at 157 and earned a pin over Wally Maziarz (4:09) to put the match out of reach at 22-9. Hightower's pin of Maziarz was his sixth on the year.

Ohio returns to action on Feb. 4 as it welcomes Clarion to the Convocation Center for a 7 p.m. match.

Ohio 22 - Buffalo 18
184: Ryan Garringer (Ohio) won by major decision over Zach Ward (Buffalo) 11-3. Ohio 4, Buffalo 0
197: Justin Heisermen (Buffalo) won by decision over Kyle Sanders (Ohio) 6-2. Ohio 4, Buffalo 3
285: Jeremy Johnson (Ohio) won by pin over Jedd Mason (Buffalo) 2:46. Ohio 10, Buffalo 3
125: Gabe Ramos (Ohio) won by decision over Sean Walton (Buffalo) 5-0. Ohio 13, Buffalo 3
133: Drew Hammer (Ohio) won by decision over Justin Farmer (Buffalo) 4-2. Ohio 16, Buffalo 3
141: Kevin Smith (Buffalo) won by decision over Darrin Boing (Ohio) 4-0. Ohio 16, Buffalo 6
149: Blake Roulo (Buffalo) won by decision over Andrew Romanchik (Ohio) 7-1. Ohio 16, Buffalo 9
157: Harrison Hightower (Ohio) won by pin over Wally Maziarz (Buffalo) 4:09. Ohio 22, Buffalo 9
165: Mark Lewandowski (Buffalo) won by tech fall over Miles Chapman (Ohio) 5:11 15-0. Ohio 22, Buffalo 14
174: Jake Waste (Buffalo) won by major decision over Michael Duckworth (Ohio) 15-3. Ohio 22, Buffalo 18