Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Places Fourth at MAC Championships

Nick Purdue won the 174 pound title at the 2012 MAC Championships.

March 4, 2012

Final_MAC_Brackets Get Acrobat Reader | Photo Gallery

ATHENS, Ohio - Senior Nick Purdue and sophomore Jeremy Johnson each finished atop the awards stands in their respective weight classes to lead the Ohio University wrestling team to a fourth-place finish at the 2012 Mid-American Conference Championships Sunday afternoon at the Convocation Center.

Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) defeated Kent State's Brendan Barlow for his first career heavyweight title. Johnson defeated Barlow 4-2 and improved to 30-5 overall on the year. His victory over Barlow was his second this season as two faced off earlier in the year on Jan. 20.

Purdue (Genoa, Ohio) earned the conference title at 174 as he outlasted Eastern Michigan's Phillip Joseph 12-10. His victory over Joseph marked the second time this season he has defeated him earlier this year on Dec. 12.

Both Johnson and Purdue's victories at heavyweight and 174 gave them automatic bids to the 2012 NCAA Championships.

Sophomore Ryan Garringer (Downers Grove, Ill.) also turned in a strong performance as he placed third at 184 to earn a bid to the NCAA Championships. Garringer pinned Kent State's Casey Newburg.

Ohio returns to action on March 15 in the NCAA Championships.

MAC Wrestling Championship Final Team Scoring:
Central Michigan, 89.0 points
Kent State, 79.0 points
Eastern Michigan, 49.0 points
Ohio, 41.5 points
Northern Illinois, 41.0 points
Buffalo, 27.5 points

2012 MAC Championship Winners:
125: Joe Roth-Central Michigan dec. (9-6) over Nic Bedelyon-Kent State
131: Zach Horan-Central Michigan dec. (5-0) over Robert Jilliard-Northern Illinois
141: Tyler Small-Kent State dec. (6-0) over Kevin Fanta-Northern Illinois
149: Ian Miller-Kent State dec. (12-3) over Blake Roulo-Buffalo
157: Donnie Corby-Central Michigan dec. (4-1) over Aaron Sulzer-Eastern Michigan
165: Mike Ottinger-Central Michigan dec. (4-3) over Mark Lewandowski-Buffalo
174: Nick Purdue-Ohio dec. (12-10) over Phillip Joseph-Eastern Michigan
184: Ben Bennett-Central Michigan dec. (8-1) over Brad Dieckhaus-Northern Illinois
197: Keith Witt-Kent State dec. (8-3) over Nick Whitenburg-Eastern Michigan
285: Jeremy Johnson-Ohio dec. (4-2) over Brendan Barlow-Kent State