Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Walters and Johnson Earn Individual MAC Crowns

Senior Jeremy Johnson claimed his second career league title at 285 pounds on Sunday.

March 9, 2014

Photo Gallery | Final_BracketGet Acrobat Reader

KENT, Ohio- The Ohio University Wrestling team finished fourth at the 2014 Mid-American Conference Championships Sunday afternoon at the M.A.C. Center. The two-day event was held on the campus of Kent State University.

Senior Jeremy Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) and sophomore Cody Walters(Macedonia, Ohio) highlighted day two competition for the Bobcats as they both claimed individual titles at heavyweight and at 174, respectively.

With the wins, both Johnson and Walters captured their second career MAC titles.

Johnson captured his second individual crown in three years after he defeated Missouri's Devin Mellon, 7-1.

Walters successfully defended his 174 pound individual crown as he edged out Old Dominion's Billy Curling 4-2. With his victory at 174, Ohio has now claimed each of the last three titles at 174.

Sophomore Phil Wellington (Euclid, Ohio) and junior Harrison Hightower(Strongsville, Ohio) dropped their respective bouts at 197 and 165, respectively. Wellington would go on to claim a 5-2 victory over Northern Illinois' Shawn Scott to secure his bid to the NCAA Championships.

Sophomore Spartak Chino(Wheaton, Ill.) turned in a strong second day performance as he went 1-1 to finish fifth at 157 pounds and in the process earn the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Championships. Chino pinned Eastern Michigan's Bradndon Zeerip (6:23) to punch his ticket to nationals for the second-consecutive season.

Junior Tywan Claxton (South Euclid, Ohio) fell twice on Sunday and finished fifth. Claxton dropped decisions to Kent State's Michael Depalma (5-0) and Northern Illinois' Robert Jillard (4-0).

Sophomore KeVon Powell (Romeoville, Ill.) and junior Ryan Garringer(Downers Grove, Ill.) rounded out competition as they placed fifth and sixth, respectively.

Ohio has five competitors that have earned automatic bids to the NCAA Championships in Oklahoma City, Okla. The 2014 NCAA Championships are set to begin on March 20 in Oklahoma City, Okla.

Final Team Standings
1. Missouri, 118.5
2. Northern Iowa, 116
3. Old Dominion, 97
4. Ohio, 94.5
5. Central Michigan, 57.5
6. Kent State, 67
7. Eastern Michigan, 57.5
8. Northern Illinois, 50
9. Buffalo, 12.5