Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Bobcats Conclude Competition at Virginia Duals

Jeremy Johnson

Nov. 3, 2012

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. - The Ohio University wrestling team defeated Anderson 37-13, but fell 34-6 to No. 16 Virginia and 21-12 against Chattanooga inside Memorial Gymnasium Saturday afternoon at the 2012 Virginia Duals.

Redshirt junior Jeremy Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) and redshirt freshman Cody Walters (Macedonia, Ohio) led the way for the Bobcats as they both finished with a perfect marks on the afternoon. Johnson went 3-0 and Walters posted a 2-0 record. Freshman Kagan Squire (Wadsworth, Ohio) and redshirt sophomore Harrison Hightower (Strongsville, Ohio) also turned in strong efforts for the `Cats as they posted marks of 2-1.

"I thought we got a lot better as the day wore on," said head coach Joel Greenlee. "We have a lot of youth on our team right now, so it was good for our guys to get out there and get some experience. Some good things happened today and we just need to keep plugging away in order to get better."

In the Bobcats' win over Anderson, Squire, Hightower, Walters, redshirt sophomore Michael Duckworth (Liberty, Ind.) and Johnson all tallied pins for Ohio.

Ohio returns to action on Sunday, Nov. 11 at the Michigan State Open. Competition is set to begin at 9 a.m.

Ohio 37, Anderson 13
125- Keenan Simmons (Anderson) wins by forfeit
133- Zach Hale (Anderson) dec. Thomas McLaughlin (Ohio), 9-6
141- Kagan Squire (Ohio) pinned Brandon Benetiz (Anderson), 1:07
149- Dan Telhada (Anderson) major dec. Gavin Moore (Ohio), 9-0
157- Spartak Chino (Ohio) dec. Nick Giuliette (Anderson), 11-5
165- Harrison Hightower (Ohio) pinned Dennis Rhodes (Anderson), :50
174- Cody Walters (Ohio) pinned Dennis Rhodes (Anderson), 4:23
184- Michael Duckworth (Ohio) pinned Donnee Grase (Anderson), 3rd period
197- Phil Wellington (Ohio) major dec. Spencer Foucher (Anderson), 15-7
285- Jeremy Johnson (Ohio) pinned Zach Newton (Anderson), 1st period

No. 16 Virginia 34 Ohio 6
125 - Matt Snyder (UVa) wins by forfeit
133 - Nick Hermann (UVa) dec. Joe Munos (Ohio), 4-3
141 - Kagan Squire (Ohio) dec. Justin Van Hoose (UVa), 5-2
149 - Derek Valenti (UVa) dec. Andrew Romanchik (Ohio), 1-0
157 - Jedd Moore (UVa) major dec. Zach Rohr (Ohio), 17-7
165 - Nick Sulzer (UVa) major dec. Harrison Hightower (Ohio), 13-3
174 - Jon Fausey (UVa) pinned Michael Duckworth (Ohio)
184 - Stephen Doty (UVa) major dec. Ryan Garringer (Ohio), 13-3
197 - Mike Salopek (UVa) major dec. Phil Wellington (Ohio), 11-3
285 - Jeremy Johnson (Ohio) dec. Derek Papagianopoulos (UVa), 7-5

Chattanooga 21, Ohio 12
125- Nick Soto (Chattanooga) won by forfeit
133- Marvin Lopez (Chattanooga) dec. Thomas McLaughlin (Ohio), 6-1
141- Dean Pavlon (Chattanooga) dec. Kagan Squire (Ohio), 6-1
149- Andrew Romanchik (Ohio) dec. Alex Hudson (Chattanooga), 8-3
157- Trey Starvum (Chattanooga) dec. Zach Rohr (Ohio), 3-1
165- Harrison Hightower (Ohio) dec. John Lampe (Chattanooga), 5-4
174- Cody Walters (Ohio) dec. Jake Young (Chattanooga), 3-1
184- Robert Prigmore (Chattanooga) dec. Ryan Garringer (Ohio), 3-0
197- Niko Brown (Chattanooga) dec. Phil Wellington (Ohio), 2-1
285- Jeremy Johnson (Ohio) dec. Kevin Malone (Chattanooga), 3-1