Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Wrestling Faces Off Against Clarion Saturday Night

Jeremy Johnson

Feb. 3, 2012

ATHENS, Ohio - The Ohio University wrestling team (3-5) will look to stay on the winning track Saturday night at 7 p.m. as it welcomes Clarion University to the Convocation Center.

The Bobcats enter the match following an impressive 22-18 victory at Buffalo this past Sunday. Ohio got off to a hot start against the Bulls as it won four of its first five bouts to take an early 16-3 lead.

Sophomore Jeremy Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) remained perfect in duel competition as he earned a pin over Jedd Mason to pick up his 25th win of the season. Johnson's pin was his 10th on the season.

Redshirt freshman Harrison Hightower (Strongsville, Ohio) also had strong bout against Buffalo as he earned a pin over Wally Maziarz to run his record to 16-13 on the year and 3-2 in Mid-American Conference action. Hightower's pin of Maziarz was his sixth on the year.

Clarion enters the match under the direction of first year head coach Matt Dernlan. The Golden Eagles are 1-6 on the season in dual meet action.

Clarion opened the year traveling to #8 Lehigh losing 27-12, and also 34-13 to #7 Illinois. In its lone home match to date, Clarion lost 37-12 to #21 Edinboro. The Golden Eagles defeated Indiana Tech 46-3 and lost 25-12 to Eastern Michigan at the EMU Duals. Two weeks ago Clarion lost a 28-10 decision at #9 Pitt and then lost in the final bout to West Virginia 23-20.

Probable Lineups
Ohio (3-5)
125: Gabe Ramos (5-6)
133: Drew Hammer (6-5)
141: Darrin Boing (11-10)
149: Andrew Romanchik (12-8)
157: Harrison Hightower (15-11)
165: Miles Chapman (7-8), Neal Williams (2-5) or Casey Gordon (1-8)
174: Michael Duckworth (14-5)
184: Ryan Garringer (8-10)
197: Kyle Sanders (5-10)
HWT: Jeremy Johnson (22-5)

Clarion (1-6)
125: Trey Hicks (5-14)
133: Joe Waltko (11-12)
141: Tyler Bedelyon (11-13) or Devin Cook (5-6)
149: Cameron Moran (10-12)
157: James Fleming (18-2)
165: Bekzod Abdurakhmonov (22-4)
174: Ryan Darch (8-11) or Nick Milano (5-11)
184: Steve Cressley (11-10)
197: Alex Thomas (18-12)
HWT: Quintas McCorkle (18-10)