Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Heads North to Face Cleveland State and Gardner-Webb

Harrison Hightower

Feb. 23, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio- The Ohio University wrestling team will be in search of its sixth-consecutive victory on Sunday as it travels to Cleveland for its final match before the Mid-American Conference Championships. The Bobcats will faces off against Cleveland State and Gardner-Webb, beginning at 1 p.m. inside Woodling Gymnasium.

Ohio enters the match after posting a convincing 36-5 triumph over Campbell last Saturday in Durham, N.C. Sophomore Harrison Hightower (Strongsville, Ohio), sophomore Michael Duckworth (Liberty, Ind.) and junior Jeremy Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) highlighted competition for the Bobcats as they each posted pins at 165, 184 and heavyweight, respectively.

Hightower's pin was his 10th on the year, which is tied for fifth among Division I Fall Leaders.

Redshirt freshman Cody Walters (Macedonia, Ohio) also continued to stay on the winning track as he posted a 4-0 victory over Campbell's Taylor McGiffen to capture his 11th-consecutive win and collect his team-best 30th win on the year.

Cleveland State enters Sunday's match with a 3-8 overall mark. CSU currently has six wrestlers with double-digit wins on the year, led by junior Ben Willeford with 19. Willeford had 18 wins all last season for the Vikings. Following Willeford with double-digit wins on the year are Riley Shaw (15), Matt Donohoe (14), Michael Carlone (14), Corey Carlo (12), and Nick Flannery (10).

Gardner-Webb is coming off a 33-7 road loss at The Citadel on Feb. 10th in which redshirt-seniors Ryan Medved and Justin Guthrie were the lone victors in the dual. Ryan Medved posted his 55th career win, while Guthrie's major decision victory at 165 pounds earned him his 50th career victory at GWU.

Ohio's Probable Lineup
125 Kevon Powell (3-12)
133 Joe Munos (4-11)
141 Kagan Squire (14-14)
149 Andrew Romanchik (13-9)
157 Sparty Chino (19-10)
165 Harrison Hightower (20-14)
174 Cody Walters (30-2)
185 Michael Duckworth (10-7)
197: Phil Wellington (19-12)
HWT: Jeremy Johnson (28-8)