Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Bobcat Wrestlers Set For MAC Championships

Jeremy Johnson

March 2, 2012

Wrestling Results Get Acrobat Reader

ATHENS, Ohio - The Ohio University wrestling team (5-7; 2-3 MAC) will play host to the 2012 Mid-American Conference Championships Sunday afternoon at 10 a.m. in the Convocation Center.

The semifinals will take place starting at 12:00 p.m., with consolation matches beginning at 2:00 p.m. Championship matches will begin at 6:00 p.m. ET.

The Bobcats enter the weekend in the hopes of capturing their 16th league title on Sunday. Last season in DeKalb, Ill., Ohio placed fourth, finishing with 41.5 points. Ohio's last MAC Championship came in 2001.

Coming into the weekend, Ohio has six wrestlers in the Top 4 of the MAC Rankings. Senior Nick Purdue (Genoa, Ohio) and sophomore Jeremy Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) are both ranked No. 1 in the league at 174 and 285 pounds, respectively.

Johnson, who claimed 2011 MAC Freshman of the Year honors, enters the championships with a team-best 28 wins and a perfect 11-0 record in dual competition. He has also posted pins in each of his last four bouts.

Purdue owns the second-best record on the team with a mark of 17-8. He opened the year strong as he won 11 of his first 12 matches.

Ohio returns to the mat for the first time since Feb. 18-19. During that weekend the Bobcats faced off against Duke, NC State and Gardner-Webb where it would post a 2-1 record, defeating both Duke and Gardner-Webb.

Admission is $10 for adults and $5 for youth (18 and under), while admission for college students of participating institutions is FREE with a valid student ID. Parking during the championships will be FREE of charge.

Ohio Probable Lineup
125: Gabe Ramos (6-10)
133: Drew Hammer (8-10)or Jacob Wojcik (5-7)
141: Darrin Boing (14-15) or Gavin Moore (2-3)
149: Andrew Romanchik (14-13)
157: Harrison Hightower (18-15)
165: Miles Chapman (8-12) or Casey Gordon (1-10)
174: Nick Purdue (17-8)
184: Ryan Garringer (13-12)
197: Beau Wenger (5-15) or Kyle Sanders (2-1)
HWT: Jeremy Johnson (28-5)