Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Three Ohio Wrestlers Earn Top Seeds For MAC Championship

Jeremy Johnson

March 4, 2014

ATHENS, Ohio - Three Ohio University wrestlers have earned No. 1 seeds for the 2014 Mid-American Conference Championship. The seeds for the 10 weight classes were announced today by the MAC office and were compiled from league's wrestling coaches.

Junior Tywan Claxton (South Euclid, Ohio), redshirt sophomore Phil Wellington (Euclid, Ohio) and heavyweight Jeremy Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) each received No. 1 seeds in their respective weight classes.

Junior Harrison Hightower (Strongsville, Ohio) and sophomore Cody Walters (Macedonia, Ohio) also earned top three seeds in the tournament as both were ranked No. 3 at 165 and 174, respectively.

The 2014 MAC Wrestling Championships will be hosted by Kent State University on March 8-9.

Ohio enters this year's championship having won four of their last five matches in dual competition. The Bobcats finished year with a 13-4 overall record and feature four wrestlers ranked in the Top 20 of the latest IntermatWrestle.com poll.

Last year, Missouri ended Central Michigan's eleven-year run as Conference Tournament Champions. Missouri finished with 136 points, followed by second-place Central Michigan (88 points) and third-place Northern Iowa (83 points).

1- Dylan Peters, Northern Iowa
2- Jared Germaine, Eastern Michigan
3- Brandon Jeske, Old Dominion
4- Corey Keener, Central Michigan
5- Barlow McGhee, Missouri
6- KeVon Powell, Ohio (13-11)
7- Max Soria, Buffalo
Alfredo Gray, Kent State
Nick Harrison, Northern Illinois

1- Joe Colon, Northern Iowa
2- Joe Roth, Central Michigan
3- Vinnie Pizzuto, Eastern Michigan
4- Mack McGuire, Kent State
5- Matt Manley, Missouri
6- Nick Smith, Northern Illinois
7- Kagan Squire, Ohio (8-10)
Michael Hayes, Old Dominion
Justin Farmer, Buffalo

1- Chris Mecate, Old Dominion
2- Zach Horan, Central Michigan
3- Joey Lazor, Northern Iowa
4- Lavion Mayes, Missouri
5- Tyler Small, Kent State
6- Noah Forrider, Ohio (23-14)
7- Nick Flannery, Buffalo
Tyler Argue, Northern Illinois
Michael Shaw, Eastern Michigan

1- Tywan Claxton, Ohio (24-6)
2- Drake Houdashelt, Missouri
3- Michael DePalma, Kent State
4- Alexander Richardson, Old Dominion
5- Robert Jillard, Northern Illinois
6- Tyler Patten, Northern Iowa
7- Scott Mattingly, Central Michigan
Nick Barber, Eastern Michigan
Ryan Todora, Buffalo

1- Ian Miller, Kent State
2- Luke Smith, Central Michigan
3- Joey Lavallee, Missouri
4- Tristan Warner, Old Dominion
5- Spartak Chino, Ohio (17-10)
6- Brandon Zeerip, Eastern Michigan
7- Jarrett Jensen, Northern Iowa
Andrew Morse, Northern Illinois
Wally Maziarz, Buffalo

1- Cooper Moore, Northern Iowa
2- Zach Toal, Missouri
3- Harrison Hightower, Ohio (29-10)
4- Nick Becker, Central Michigan
5- Tyler Buckwalter, Kent State
6- Devin Geoghegan, Old Dominion
7- Shaun'Qae McMurtry, Northern Illinois
Jimmy Klosz, Eastern Michigan
Jake Campana, Buffalo

1- Billy Curling, Old Dominion
2- Mike Ottinger, Central Michigan
3- Cody Walters, Ohio (9-2)
4- Cody Caldwell, Northern Iowa
5- Caleb Marsh, Kent State
6- Jacob Davis, Eastern Michigan
7- Mikey England, Missouri
Matt Mougin, Northern Illinois
Rrok Ndokaj, Buffalo

1- Ryan Loder, Northern Iowa
2- John Eblen, Missouri
3- Jack Dechow, Old Dominion
4- Phillip Joseph, Eastern Michigan
5- Tony Lock, Buffalo
6- Craig Kelliher, Central Michigan
7- Caleb Busson, Northern Illinois
Ryan Garringer, Ohio (11-18)
Cory Campbell, Kent State

1- Phil Wellington, Ohio (30-3)
2- J'den Cox, Missouri
3- Shawn Scott, Northern Illinois
4- Cole Baxter, Kent State
5- Nick Whitenburg, Eastern Michigan
6- Kevin Beazley, Old Dominion
7- Jackson Lewis, Central Michigan
Angelo Malvestuto, Buffalo
Jared Bartel, Northern Iowa

1- Jeremy Johnson, Ohio (33-4)
2- Devin Mellon, Missouri
3- Jared Torrence, Northern Illinois
4- Blaize Cabell, Northern Iowa
5- Khodor Hoballah, Eastern Michigan
6- Matt Tourdot, Old Dominion
7- Mimmo Lytle, Kent State
Adam Robinson, Central Michigan
James Benjamin, Buffalo