Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Follow Ohio at the MAC Wrestling Championship

Joel Greenlee

March 10, 2013

Live Results | Watch Live | MAC_Championship_Bracket

BUFFALO, N.Y. - Follow the Ohio University wrestling team live as it goes for its first Mid-American Conference Championship title since 2001. The championship semifinal round will begin at 1 p.m. The Championship Finals Parade will be held at 5 pm, with championships to be held at 5:20 pm.

Earlier this week, Ohio received seven individuals in the top 5 of the preliminary seeds.

Redshirt Cody Walters (Macedonia, Ohio) earned Ohio's highest pre-seed as he was ranked No. 2 at 174 pounds. Walters enters Sunday's championship with a mark of 32-2 and has claimed his last two bouts by fall. He is currently in the midst of a 12-match winning streak. Walters opened the year by claiming his first 19 bouts.

Junior Jeremy Johnson (Broadview Heights, Ohio) earned a No. 3 seed at heavyweight after he posted a 30-8 mark this season. The 2012 defeating MAC heavyweight champion enters the event on Sunday, having won 12 of his last 13 bouts.

As a team, Ohio finished the regular season with an 11-5 record and won its last seven matches.

At least 30 MAC wrestlers will advance automatically from the MAC Championships after March 10. After all of the qualifying events have concluded, the NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee will select 40 at-large qualifiers, which will be announced on March 13. All weight classes will consist of 33 wrestlers. The at-large selections will be made based on head-to-head competition, qualifying event placement, quality wins, results against common opponents, winning percentage, RPI, coaches ranking and the number of matches contested at that weight class.

Ohio's Probable Lineup
125: Kevon Powell (5-12)
133: Joe Munos (6-11)
141: Kagan Squire (15-15)
149: Andrew Romanchik (14-10)
157: Sparty Chino (20-11)
165: Harrison Hightower (22-14)
174: Cody Walters (32-2)
184: Michael Duckworth (12-7)
197: Phil Wellington (21-12)
HWT: Jeremy Johnson (30-8)