Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Future Bobcats Shine at Junior Nationals in Fargo

Kevon Powell won the 120 pound weight class at Junior Nationals this past July.

Aug. 1, 2012

WATCH: Powell's championship match | WATCH: Fox's championship match

ATHENS, Ohio - Future Ohio University wrestlers Kevon Powell and T.J. Fox, who will compete for the Bobcats this upcoming season placed first at 120 pounds and second at 152 pounds, respectively at the 2012 Asics/Vaughan Junior and Cadet National Championships in Fargo, N.D.

The annual event which features some of the nation's top wrestlers took place July 13-21 at the FargoDome.

Powell (Romeoville, Ill.), who has never placed lower than third in any of his four trips to the Illiniois State Wrestling Tournament, went a perfect 8-0 during his championship run. His victory in the final round came over Josh Newberg from Washington.

Fox (Field, Ohio), who was a state runner-up as a junior, posted a 9-1 mark, while registering four pins during his 10 bouts. He would go on to compete for the individual title against Oliver Pierce from Texas, but dropped a 2-0 decision.

Both Powell and Fox will be enrolled at Ohio University this fall.

Kevon Powell - Results
1st Place Match: Kevon Powell (Illinois) over Josh Newberg (Washington) (Dec 6-0,0-1,1-0)
RR1: Kevon Powell (Illinois) over Isaiah Varona (Florida) (Dec 0-1,1-0,2-0)
Round 7: Kevon Powell (Illinois) over Luis Gurule (Colorado) (Dec 2-0,4-0)
Round 6: Kevon Powell (Illinois) over Brandon Vang (California) (TF 7-0,6-0)
Round 5: Kevon Powell (Illinois) over Brenden Calas (New Jersey) (Dec 7-0,1-0)
Round 4: Kevon Powell (Illinois) over () (Bye )
Round 3: Kevon Powell (Illinois) over Nick Mancini (Ohio) (TF 6-0,6-0)
Round 2: Kevon Powell (Illinois) over Nick Diny (Wisconsin) (TF 8-0,3-4,6-0)
Round 1: Kevon Powell (Illinois) over Taylor Logue (Maryland) (TF 7-0,7-0)

T.J. Fox - Results
1st Place Match: Oliver Pierce (Texas) over T.J. Fox (Ohio) (Dec 7-0,2-0)
RR1: T.J. Fox (Ohio) over Yoanse Mejia (Florida) (Fall 0:51)
Round 8: T.J. Fox (Ohio) over Eric Hoffman (Maryland) (Dec 0-2,3-0,7-1)
Round 7: T.J. Fox (Ohio) over Yoanse Mejia (Florida) (Fall 0:51)
Round 6: T.J. Fox (Ohio) over Brendan Goldup (New York) (Fall 1:37)
Round 5: T.J. Fox (Ohio) over Jordan Lara (New Mexico) (Dec 5-0,1-0)
Round 4: T.J. Fox (Ohio) over Nick Georgean (Illinois) (Fall 7-5,1:12)
Round 3: T.J. Fox (Ohio) over Aaron Engle (Missouri) (Dec 4-3,6-0)
Round 2: T.J. Fox (Ohio) over Jake Deutschlander (Minnesota) (TF 7-0,0-3,6-0)
Round 1: T.J. Fox (Ohio) over Daquon Wilson (South Carolina) (Dec 1-0,7-2)