Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Field Hockey Topped in Overtime by Miami in MAC Tournament

Nov. 4, 2005

Final Stats

Mount Pleasant, Mich. - After 77 minutes of scoreless field hockey, No. 3 Miami's Courtney Fretz led a two-on-one breakaway and Teja Kammler finished it off, lifting the RedHawks to a 1-0 victory over No. 2 Ohio Friday in the semifinal round of the Mid-American Conference Tournament.

The RedHawks (10-11) advance to Saturday's MAC title game to face No. 4 and host Central Michigan, who defeated top-seeded Kent State in the other half of the semifinal bracket.

The Bobcats finish the 2005 season at 8-12. Ohio concludes the season with its highest win total since 2003 and its best mark in the conference since 2001.

Seven minutes into the overtime period, Miami took advantage of a breakaway and finished the game off. Fretz controlled the ball down the right sideline and well into Ohio territory. Her shot attempt towards the left post was tipped in on the left side by a surging Kammler, who put it away.

"For the most part, I thought our defense did a good, solid job," said Ohio Head Coach Neil Macmillan. "Our inability to work the ball out was certainly a factor and it cost us."

In a game dominated by defense, Ohio outshot Miami 6-4 and each team was awarded four penalty corners. The Bobcats took four shots in the first frame and one in the second half and overtime period.

"For whatever reason, we just weren't able to put the ball in the back of the net," Macmillan said. "It's something we're going to look at and correct for the future."

Torrie Albini (Escondido, Calif.) took three shots--two on goal. Nikki Gnozzio (Flanders, N.J.) and Celine McNamara (Lakewood, Ohio) each chipped in a shot on goal for the Ohio offensive unit.

Jennifer Cote (Raynham, Mass.) made one save between the pipes for Ohio. Miami's Kerri Orr recorded four stops for the RedHawks.

Friday marked the final game in a four-year run for Ohio's five seniors: co-captain Erica Bundalo (Virginia Beach, Va.), Cote, Taylor Edwards (Chatham, N.J.), Chelsea Mearig (Lititz, Pa.) and co-captain and MAC Player of the Year Lindsay Rothenberger (Fleetwood, Pa.).

The Bobcats will return six starters in 2006, including First Team All-MAC selection Albini and second-team honorees Estienne Coetzee (Bloemfontein, South Africa) and Amanda Arnold (Oceanport, N.J.).