Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Field Hockey with Demanding Weekend on Tap

Laura Mastro and the Bobcats play two difficult teams this weekend in Louisville and Indiana.

Like Ohio Field Hockey on Facebook

ATHENS, Ohio - Ohio Field Hockey is back on the road this weekend with a trip to Bloomington, Ind., for matchups with Louisville and Indiana. The Bobcats play the Cardinals at 2 p.m. on Saturday and the unbeaten Hoosiers on Sunday at 1 p.m.

Last weekend, junior Luli Gomez Teruel scored five goals in her first home start as a Bobcat in a dominant win over Radford, 9-0. She set the Ohio single-game record for goals in just her third contest and became the first collegiate player since 2010 to score five times in a match. For her performance she earned MAC Offensive Player of the Week honors.

The Last Meeting
September 6, 2008
Louisville, Ky.
Field Hockey Falls in First Road Game of Season
No. 17 Louisville Cardinals' attack was too much for the No. 20 Ohio Bobcats (1-3) to overcome, as the Ohio field hockey team fell 4-1 Saturday afternoon in their first road contest of the season.

The Last Meeting
September 18, 2011
Athens, Ohio
Bobcat Rally Falls Short Against Indiana
Cathryn Altdoerffer scored two second-half goals but it was not enough to pull No. 15 Ohio back from an early three-goal deficit as it lost 3-2 this afternoon to Indiana.

Jessica Jue, Caelyn Hartley and Marissa Higgins all scored as well for the Green and White who scored their most goals in a game since a 9-1 victory over Ball State last season. It was the largest margin of victory for the `Cats since a 9-0 win over Miami in 2001.

Higgins notched an assist for the first multi--point game of her career while Adele Sammons and Nicole van Batenburg recorded their first points in Ohio uniforms with helpers of their own. Cathryn Altdoerffer also notched an assist for her first point of the season.

Brittany Walker was untested in goal and registered her first career shutout. Ohio out-shot Radford for the game, 29-3, and held an 11-2 edge in penalty corners.

The Bobcats have claimed four MAC championships in the last six seasons. Last year, the team reached the NCAA Tournament for the second time under Head Coach Neil Macmillan, joining the 2007 squad.

Series History
Ohio is 28-8 all-time vs. Louisville but dropped the last meeting in 2008, 4-1. The Bobcats also own a winning record against Indiana at 4-2. However, the Green and White dropped a contest to the Hoosiers last season 3-2. Cathryn Altdoerffer scored twice after IU tallied the first three goals of the match.

Brown Earns MAC Honors
Taylor Brown was named the MAC Field Hockey Offensive Player of the Week by the league offices last week. She has earned a weekly award each of the last three years while playing for the Bobcats.

This past weekend Brown, a two-time All-MAC selection, had a goal and four assists in Ohio’s home opener against Radford. She tied former Bobcat Andrea Voros for fifth place all-time with 34 goals in her career.

Opponents at a Glance
Louisville is 3-1 having played all their games at home this season and earning wins over Davidson and Ball State last weekend. The Cardinals also defeated Miami during the first weekend of 2012. Erin Schneidtmiller and Becca Maddock are tied for the team lead with three goals while sophomore Amber Thomas netted twice against BSU on Monday.

Indiana is 3-0 on the season after routing Missouri State last weekend, 5-1. Six different players have scored multiple goals on the season for the Hoosiers and the defense has been solid with newcomer Sydney Supica playing an integral part, being named Big Ten Freshman Player of the Week

Preseason MAC Poll
Ohio University has been picked in the 2012 MAC Preseason Coach's Poll to claim the regular season title, as well as to take home the conference tournament title.  

Ohio received 30 votes, including four first place votes to be predicted as the 2012 regular season champs by the MAC coaches.

The Bobcats, who ranked 20th nationally in the final NFHCA 2011 poll, will be trying to reach the NCAA Tournament in consecutive years for the first time in program history.