Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ohio Softball's NCAA Championship Run To Be Broadcast On Radio

May 14, 2014

ATHENS, Ohio -- All of the Ohio University softball team's 2014 NCAA Championship games will be on the radio.

The flagship station of the Ohio IMG Sports Network -- Power 105-WXTQ in Athens -- will carry the games. They will also be streamed online on OhioBobcats.com. The "Voice of the Bobcats" Russ Eisenstein will handle the play-by-play duties.

Each broadcast will start with a 10-minute pregame show that will include comments from Bobcat student-athletes and sixth-year head coach Jodi Hermanek.

"This is a great time for Bobcat Softball, Ohio Athletics and Ohio University," said Eisenstein. "Softball plays well on radio, so it's only fitting that we broadcast these games. I've been able to call some memorable moments in Bobcat history, and I hope to be able to add more to the list in Lexington."

Airtime Friday (May 16) night for Ohio's opening game of the 2014 NCAA Lexington Regional against No. 15/16 Kentucky is set for 7:20 p.m. ET with the first pitch at 7:30pm. In addition to the radio broadcasts, Bobcat TV will have extensive coverage of Ohio Softball's NCAA Tournament trip.

This weekend's regional will also have a live video stream, via UKathletics.com.

The Mid-American Conference Tournament champion Bobcats (32-24) drew the Lexington Regional to open the 2014 NCAA Softball Championship and will battle No. 14 national seed Kentucky (44-15) -- the Southeastern Conference Tournament runner-up -- at John Cropp Stadium to begin the double-elimination pod.

Ohio and Kentucky will be joined in the Lexington Regional by Colonial Athletic Association champion No. 25 James Madison (44-13) and Big East Conference champion DePaul (41-9). The Dukes and Blue Demons will compete in the regional opener on Friday at 5 p.m. ET. The winners of Friday's contests will meet in a winner's bracket final at 1 p.m. ET on Saturday (May 17), with an elimination game between Friday's losers beginning at 3:30 p.m. ET. The winner of that contest will play the loser of the winner's bracket final at 6 p.m. ET for the right to advance to the Lexington Regional Championship, which will be held on Sunday (May 17) at 1 p.m. ET. Should the team with no losses fall in that contest, a winner-take-all second championship game will take place at 3:30 p.m. ET.

The Bobcats are making their second NCAA Championship appearance in program history and first since 1995.

The NCAA Tournament is made up of a field of 64 teams -- including 32 conference champions and 32 at-large bids. The tournament begins with 16 four-team double-elimination regionals held at campus sites (May 16-18). The 16 regional champions advance to the best-of-three Super Regionals, which will also be held at eight campus sites (May 22-25). The eight Super Regional champions punch tickets to the 2014 NCAA Women's College World Series, which will run May 29 to June 4 at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium - OGE Energy Field in Oklahoma City, Okla.

The winner of the Lexington Regional advances to a Super Regional against the winner of the Los Angeles Regional, which includes No. 3 seed UCLA, Southern Utah, Long Beach State and Notre Dame.

The No. 5-seeded Bobcats won their first-ever conference tournament championship and advanced to the national postseason tournament with a 4-0 victory over No. 2-seeded Buffalo last Saturday (May 10) at Firestone Stadium in Akron, Ohio.