Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Lamberti Named MAC Player of the Year

Kelly Lamberti

Nov. 15, 2012

ATHENS, Ohio - Ohio Volleyball's stellar 2012 season was well rewarded by the Mid-American Conference on Thursday. Kelly Lamberti was named the MAC Player of the Year and the Bobcats claimed a combined seven spots on the First, Second, and All-Freshman teams.

"Kelly has been instrumental to our success this season," said Head Coach Ryan Theis. "She does a lot for this team and I'm thrilled to see her recognized for her efforts."

Lamberti has had a sensational sophomore season for the Bobcats, leading the team in kills (393), attacks (1,122), and service aces (28).

In addition to Lamberti's Player of the Year honor, she was also named First Team All-MAC. Joining her on the First Team are Meredith Ashy and Chelsea Bilger. Ashy leads the team with 461 digs while Bilger is second on the team in kills (291) and fourth in blocks (53).

Ohio was one of just three teams to receive three spots on the First Team. Bowling Green and Western Michigan were the others.

Faith Robins and Serena Warner were also recognized for their stellar seasons, earning Second Team honors. These two student-athletes have been important parts of the Ohio offense, recording 183 and 155 kills, respectively. Robins hit at a clip of .273 while Warner was successful on her attempts at a rate of .308.

Ohio was the only league school to earn two spots on the Second Team.

"I am happy to see us well represented on the All-Conference teams," Theis added. "Although individual achievements are nice, we are more focused on being the best team."

Keeping with this trend, Ohio was the only program to earn two spots on the Freshman Team. Meredith Ashy and Abby Gilleland have each played above their years in 2012 for the Green and White, making an immediate impact on the program.

Ohio (19-9, 14-2 MAC) recently claimed its seventh MAC regular-season title. The Bobcats open play as the No. 1 seed at the MAC Tournament against Ball State on Friday at 4:30 p.m.