Roster  |  Schedule  |  News  |  History
Ryan Theis Named MAC Coach of the Year

Theis is tied for first on the Ohio all-time wins list (144)

Nov. 27, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio - Ohio University volleyball head coach Ryan Theis has been named the 2013 MAC Coach of the Year, the league office announced Wednesday.

It marks the second time Theis has earned the honor in his Ohio career and the sixth time in school history an Ohio head coach has been named MAC Coach of the Year. Theis also garnered the accolade in 2009 after leading Ohio to a 27-7 record.

This season, Theis has led the Bobcats to a MAC Regular Season Title, MAC Tournament Championship and a 27-4 overall record. Ohio captured the Oregon Classic and WKU Invitational Tournament crowns and put together a 14-2 league record. Theis mentored four First Team All-MAC selections, including the 2013 MAC Player of the Year (Abby Gilleland).

Now in his sixth season at the helm of the Bobcats, Theis has put together a 144-52 (.735) overall record, including a 79-17 (.823) mark in league play. He is now tied with Geoff Carlson for first all-time in Ohio volleyball history in overall victories (144).

Ohio wraps up the regular season Saturday with a 5 p.m. non-conference matchup at Virginia Commonwealth (25-8, 11-3 A-10).