$restriction.code /facilities/aquatic-center/index

Aquatic Center


Game DayDirectionsADA InfoProhibited ItemsRental/Tour Info

One of the premier swimming and diving facilities in the Mid-American Conference, the Ohio University Aquatic Center opened in January 1984 at a cost of $4.7 million.

The Olympic-size pool has 22 25-yard lanes, 10 50-meter lanes and a pair of one-meter and three-meter diving boards. Approximately 645,468.75 gallons create 12,300 square feet of surface water. Located in the ceiling above the water envelope are 13 wooden timber beams of Douglas fir, Western Larch, Southern Pine, and California Redwood.

The shallow end of the pool is 3'6" deep while the deepest part is 13'14" deep. There is an underwater window at the deep end and an outdoor sun deck on the second floor.

The 1,105-seat facility hosted the 1984-85 NCAA Diving Regionals and numerous conference championship meets, including the Women's MAC Championships in 1986, 1989, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2005 and 2011 and the Men's MAC Championships in 1988, 1991, 1998, 2002, and 2006.

Planning for the center began in the summer of 1979. Financial support from the Nationwide Insurance Foundation permitted Ohio University to undertake an architectural design competition involving six architects and begin - once a design and architect were selected - with the development of plans and specifications in advance of the capital funding from the state.

Capital funding in the amount of $3,625,000 was provided by Am.Sub.H.B. 552, which was passed Nov. 24, 1981, by the 114th General Assembly. The planning for and design of the project involved individuals from the Health and Sports Sciences Department (formerly the School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation) and the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics. The committee involved in the planning - chaired by Dr. James Lavery, Harold McElhaney and Alan Geiger - consisted of students, faculty, coaches and staff.

Dan A. Carmichael provided architectural services for the project and bids were received Feb. 25, 1982.

The facility's dedication took place on Jan. 27, 1984, before a dual meet against Youngstown State.