$restriction.code /general/2017-18/releases/20180531fuh7qt

Ohio's Miller and Ryan Honored WIth MAC Medal of Excellence Awards

Ohio's Miller and Ryan Honored WIth MAC Medal of Excellence Awards

CLEVELAND, Ohio -- Twenty-three Mid-American Conference (MAC) student-athletes were presented with the Medal of Excellence Award during last night's Honors Dinner Ceremony at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel as part of the MAC Spring Meetings.

The Medal of Excellence is an award presented annually to one male and one female student-athlete from the graduating class of each of the 12 Conference member institutions.

Ohio's honorees were seniors Bradley Miller (men's cross country) and Emma Ryan (track & field). 

"The Medal of Excellence Award is a reinforcement of the core values that we as a conference and each of our member institutions all possess with excellence in academics, athletics, leadership and service," said MAC Commissioner, Jon A. Steinbrecher. "We congratulate all of our Medal of Excellence Award winners."

To be honored with the Medal of Excellence Award, student-athletes had to participate on the varsity level in a conference sponsored sport and shown evidence of academic success with a minimum 3.50 accumulative grade-point average, exhibited athletics excellence, leadership and service.  Selection of the recipients was made by each MAC institution. Ohio's Intercollegiate Athletics Committee took on the role of nominating for the award for the first time this year. 

2018 Medal of Excellence Award Winners

Akron: Zach Guiser (football); Jackie Siefring (women's track & field)

Ball State: Vinnie Palazeti (football); Alyssa Heintschel (women's soccer)

Bowling Green: Kohl Taberner (men's cross country); Aspen Searle (softball)

Buffalo: Tim Roberts (football); Liisa Ups (women's basketball)

Central Michigan: Joe Ostman (football); Kathryn Clements (women's gymnastics)

Eastern Michigan: Luke DeVenney (baseball); Kendall Valentin (women's gymnastics)

Kent State: Mason Mamarella (baseball); Samantha Tollerud (women's track & field)

Miami: Katie Tomasic (women's volleyball)

Northern Illinois: Drew Donnally (men's soccer); Kedisha Dallas (women's track & field)

Ohio: Bradley Miller (men's cross country); Emma Ryan (women's track & field)

Toledo: Sam Shutes (baseball); Jay-Ann Bravo-Harriott (women's basketball)

Western Michigan: Brandon Bye (men's soccer); Maria Jaramillo (women's soccer)

Radio Network is Ready
August 26, 2017 Radio Network is Ready