$restriction.code /sports/bsb/2016-17/releases/20170627ls9uvd

@Ohio_Baseball 2017 Summer Ball Update

@Ohio_Baseball 2017 Summer Ball Update


ATHENS, Ohio -- The Ohio baseball team is just a few weeks removed from capturing its second Mid-American Conference Championship title in the last three years, but 22 Bobcats are already back at work at ballfields across the country competing for summer league teams.

The following is a compete list of Ohio players and their summer league teams, sorted by league:

Great Lakes Summer Collegiate League
Southern Ohio Copperheads -- LHP Butch Baird, LHP Derek Carr, C Dan McCauley, LHP Cole Shinsky
Cincinnati Steam -- LHP Nick Byrnes
Lorain County Ironmen -- LHP Tony Iero, OF Jack Longo

Northwoods League
Eau Claire Express -- OF/INF Tony Giannini, RHP/INF Kenny Ogg, INF Rudy Rott, LHP Gerry Salisbury
Fond du Lac Dock Spiders -- RHP Jake Roehn
Rockford Rivets -- RHP Josh Petersen

Perfect Game Collegiate Baseball League
Utica Blue Sox -- OF/INF Devon Garcia, OF Ryan Sargent
Jamestown Jammers -- RHP Cory Blessing

Prospect League
Chillicothe Paints -- RHP Nick Kamrada, C Tanner Piechnick
Springfield Sliders -- RHP/INF Connor McMann

MINK Summer College Baseball League
Chillicothe Mudcats -- C Devonte Washington

Ohio Valley Summer Collegiate Baseball League
Owensboro Oilers -- INF Jack Coney

Sunflower Collegiate League
Kansas Cougars -- OF Evan Bourn

The Bobcats finished 2017 with 31 wins -- including 11 in MAC play, which placed Ohio fifth in the overall league standings. Under the direction of fifth-year head coach Rob Smith, No. 5-seeded Ohio capped an improbable league postseason run by defeating No. 3-seeded Eastern Michigan, 7-4, to clinch the 2017 MAC Championship title on May 28 at Sprenger Stadium in Avon, Ohio. Ohio earned its third MAC tournament title (1997, 2015, '17) with the victory. The Bobcats opened 2017 MAC Championship play by beating No. 4-seeded Ball State, 4-3, on May 24. Ohio then advanced to the winner's bracket final thanks to a late-night 5-3 win over No. 1-seeded Kent State the following day. The Bobcats eliminated the Golden Flashes with a 7-2 victory on May 27, marking the fourth time in five tries Ohio emerged victorious over MAC regular season champion Kent State in 2017. After missing the national postseason tournament 17 years in a row, Ohio punched its second NCAA Regional ticket in the last three years as the MAC's automatic bid with the victory over Eastern Michigan, advancing to the 2017 NCAA Championship Lexington Regional. The No. 4 regionally-seeded Bobcats fell to No. 1 regionally-seeded Kentucky, 6-4, on June 4, then dropped an 11-2 decision to No. 2 regionally-seeded Indiana the following day.