$restriction.code /sports/bsb/spec-rel/042617aaa.html

@Ohio_Baseball's Roehn Named To NCBWA 2017 Stopper Of The Year Midseason Watch List

@Ohio_Baseball's Roehn Named To NCBWA 2017 Stopper Of The Year Midseason Watch List

April 26, 2017


NCBWA 2017 Stopper Of The Year Midseason Watch List

GRAND FORKS, N.D. -- Ohio baseball redshirt junior right-handed closer Jake Roehn (Sandwich, Ill.) has been honored as one of 40 of the top relief pitchers in college baseball to be named to the Midseason Watch List for the 13th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, as announced by members of the association on Wednesday (April 26).

Roehn is one of 16 of the 40 players who were on the preseason watch list released on Feb. 13 and is the lone representative from the Mid-American Conference.

Roehn has made 19 appearances out of the bullpen in 2017, sporting a 3-2 record with a 1.88 ERA and 31 strikeouts over 28.2 innings of work. He has allowed just six earned runs on 23 hits and 12 walks. His nine saves are a career-high, are tied with Chad Reed (1992) for the second-most in program history and bring his career total to 16, which ranks third in program history. Roehn was named MAC East Division Pitcher of the Week for the first time in his career on Feb. 27 after picking up both wins on the mound out of the bullpen in a 6-4 win over SIU Edwardsville on Feb. 25 and a 2-1 win in 13 innings over the Cougars the following day. He did not allow a run in five innings of relief and struck out eight while giving up just three hits and one walk over the two victories.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. The Longhorns' Corey Knebel won in 2011, with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. UCLA's David Berg was crowned the winner in 2013, Louisville's Nick Burdi took home the 2014 honor and Berg became the award's first two-time winner in 2015. Miami (Fla.)'s Bryan Garcia was honored as the 2016 recipient.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I, II and III Players of the Week and Division I, II and III Players of the Year.

Ohio (19-20, 5-7 MAC) is coming off of its second MAC series win of the 2017 season after taking two of three games from East Division archrival Miami last weekend at Bob Wren Stadium in Athens. The Bobcats opened the weekend with a 9-5 victory last Friday (April 21). After dropping a 3-1 decision on Saturday (April 22), the Green & White bounced back with a 3-2 triumph in the Sunday (April 23) series finale. Roehn earned saves in both of the Bobcats' wins over the RedHawks.

Ohio returns to the road this weekend for a three-game series in Kalamazoo, Mich., against MAC West Division foe Western Michigan (16-19, 6-9 MAC). The series opener is scheduled for 3 p.m. ET on Friday (April 28) at Robert J. Bobb Stadium at Hyames Field. The Saturday (April 29) and Sunday (April 30) matchups are both set for 1 p.m. ET starts. 'Voice of the Bobcats' Russ Eisenstein will have the call of all three games on WOUB 1340 AM and online on OhioBobcats.com via Stretch Internet.