$restriction.code /sports/fball/2019-20/releases/20190716jcqefo

Ohio Football's Rourke Named To 2019 Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

Ohio Football's Rourke Named To 2019 Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

FOLLOW OHIO FOOTBALL: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Senior quarterback Nathan Rourke (Oakville, Ontario, Canada) of the Ohio football team has been named to the 2019 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, as announced by the Davey O'Brien Foundation today.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement for a player to win the award. Quarterbacks from all NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible.

Sixteen semifinalists for the award will be named on Wednesday, Nov. 13. From that list, the Foundation will announce the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 25. The 2019 Davey O'Brien Award winner will be unveiled live on ESPN Thursday, Dec. 12, during The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The 2019 season marks the 13th year that fans will be invited to participate in the voting process on VoteOBrien.org. Results from the Davey O'Brien fan vote will be combined with the ballots from the selection committee.

Compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, this year's list was selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2019 college football season. All nominees are required to have previously started at least one game at their current institution.

Rourke's name is on the Davey O'Brien Award Watch List for the second-straight year, and he is the lone quarterback representing the Mid-American Conference on the list.

Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama, a finalist for the Davey O'Brien Award in 2018, is among the players on the watch list. Tagovailoa is joined by eight semifinalists from last year: Notre Dame's Ian Book, Mason Fine of North Texas, Georgia's Jake Fromm, Justin Herbert of Oregon, Houston's D'Eriq King, Trevor Lawrence of Clemson, Utah State's Jordan Love and Shea Patterson of Michigan.

The remaining members of the watch list include: Jake Bentley (South Carolina), Alan Bowman (Texas Tech), Charlie Brewer (Baylor), Joe Burrow (LSU), K.J. Costello (Stanford), J.T. Daniels (USC), Sam Ehlinger (Texas), Feleipe Franks (Florida), Kelvin Hopkins Jr. (Army West Point), Adrian Martinez (Nebraska), Cole McDonald (Hawai'i) Kellen Mond (Texas A&M), Steven Montez (Colorado), James Morgan (FIU), Bryce Perkins (Virginia), Brock Purdy (Iowa State), Desmond Ridder (Cincinnati), Nate Stanley (Iowa), Khalil Tate (Arizona) and Zac Thomas (Appalachian State).

On Monday, Rourke was named to the 2019 Maxwell Award Watch List, marking the second year in a row he has been named to that award's watch list.

Rourke, a two-time All-MAC Second Team selection, has played in 26 games with 24 starts over the last two seasons with the Bobcats and owns a 17-7 record as a starting quarterback. Rourke is ranked first in program history with a career passing efficiency rating of 144.3, second with 40 career passing touchdowns, second with 178.3 career passing yards per game, fourth with 4,637 career passing yards, fourth with a career completion percentage of 57.4 percent (325-of-566), fifth with 14.3 career yards per completion and seventh with 325 career completions. He has also tallied 36 career rushing touchdowns, which ranks as the third-most in program history, and has rushed for more touchdowns than any other quarterback in NCAA FBS over the last two seasons. Rourke has been responsible for 77 career touchdowns -- the second-most in program history and the third-most in NCAA FBS over the last two seasons. He ranks third in program history with 37 career touchdowns scored and sixth with 222 career points scored. Rourke is a two-time winner of the Joe Cornish Trophy, which is awarded annually to the most outstanding Canadian player in NCAA Football. He has helped guide Ohio to a pair of bowl victories, with the Bobcats topping UAB, 41-6, in the 2017 Bahamas Bowl and shutting out San Diego State, 27-0, in the 2018 DXL Frisco Bowl.

A physical activity & sport coaching major, Rourke has also excelled in the classroom, earning both Academic All-MAC and MAC Distinguished Scholar Athlete recognition following his 2018 junior season.

Rourke arrived at Ohio after playing one year at Fort Scott Community College (Fort Scott, Kansas) in 2016. He played his senior year of high school at Edgewood Academy in Elmore, Ala., after playing his first three years of high school football at Holy Trinity High School in Oakville, Ontario, Canada.

Ohio will kick off the 2019 regular season on Saturday, Aug. 31, with a home matchup against Rhode Island at Peden Stadium. The contest is slated to get underway at 2 p.m. ET and will be broadcast live on ESPN+. For ticket information, call the ticket office at 1-800-575-2287 or click here.


Ohio Football Falls to Miami
November 6, 2019 Ohio Football Falls to Miami
Ohio Football Falls At Pitt
September 7, 2019 Ohio Football Falls At Pitt