$restriction.code /sports/fh/2019-20/releases/20190711pxjski

Ohio Field Hockey Announces 2019 Schedule

Ohio Field Hockey Announces 2019 Schedule


2019 Ohio Field Hockey Schedule

ATHENS, Ohio -- The Ohio field hockey program revealed its 2019 schedule today, as announced by second-year head coach Ali Johnstone. The Bobcats' 15-match regular season slate is highlighted by nine home contests at Pruitt Field and six Mid-American Conference matchups.

The Bobcats will battle three teams that qualified for the 2018 NCAA Championship field.

Ohio's new season opens with a pair of home matches as the Drexel Dragons (Aug. 30) and Boston Terriers (Aug. 31) visit Pruitt Field. The Bobcats then travel to Davidson (Sep. 6) before coming back home to face off against Lock Haven (Sep. 13) at 3 p.m. ET. Then, a trip to Boone, North Carolina and a matchup against Appalachian State begins conference play for Ohio on Friday, Sep. 22. Just two days later, the Bobcats continue their trip through North Carolina, taking on the Duke Blue Devils who earned an Elite Eight berth in the 2018 NCAA Tournament.

MAC play continues on the road against 2018 conference runner-up Kent State on Sept. 28 at 12 p.m. ET. To begin October, Ohio comes home for another conference game against Longwood on Saturday, Oct. 5 at 12 p.m. ET. The next day (Oct. 6), Ohio State comes to Pruitt Field for a 2 p.m. ET matchup. Then, on Friday, Oct. 11, Ohio travels to Michigan State, with first touch at 3 p.m. ET. The last road match of the regular season comes against Central Michigan on Sunday, Oct. 13 at 12 p.m. ET. 

The Bobcats finish the regular season with four-straight matchups at Pruitt Field. Ball State makes the trip to Athens on Friday, Oct. 18, with first touch at 3 p.m. ET. Then, Ohio takes on its third Big Ten opponent of the season when they take on Indiana on Sunday, Oct. 20 at 11 a.m. ET. The following Friday (Oct. 25) the 2018 MAC Champion Miami RedHawks come to Pruitt Field for a 1 p.m. ET first touch. The final regular season match starts at 12 p.m. ET on Saturday, Oct. 26 against UC Davis. 

By virtue of winning last season's league tournament title, Miami plays host to the 2019 MAC Championship (Nov. 6-9) in Oxford. The 2019 MAC Championship Final will take place on Nov. 9, with the winner receiving an automatic bid to the 2019 NCAA Championship Field as conference champion. A total of 18 teams will qualify for the 2019 tournament. Ten teams will receive automatic bids by winning their conference tournaments and an additional eight teams will earn at-large bids. The national semifinals (Nov. 22) and championship match (Nov. 24) will be held at Wake Forest's Kentner Stadium.

Ohio earned two wins in MAC play last year and picked up a 4-0 conference tournament win over Ball State in the quarterfinals. The Bobcats return All-MAC Second Team selections Jillian Shive and Leah Warren in 2019.