$restriction.code /sports/fh/spec-rel/100616aah.html

Getting To Know The @OhioFieldHockey Team: Kristen Buchanan

Getting To Know The @OhioFieldHockey Team: Kristen Buchanan
Oct. 6, 2016

“Getting To Know The @OhioFieldHockey Team” is a series where each player is asked 10 questions about themselves. The questions range from personal interests to background information about each player. The first player to be featured in the series is senior Kristen Buchanan (San Diego, Calif.).

Where are you from? How big is field hockey in your hometown?
I am from San Diego, California. It is not very big in field hockey. You would start in middle school, but high school is where if you really want to play that’s when you’ll start. All of the tournaments you have to travel to the east coast, so it’s not very known in California.

What is your favorite thing about Athens?
I would say the campus itself with the bricks and all of the trees when the fall colors change because we do not get that back home.

What is the best part about being a member of the Bobcats?
They are my family away from my family because I don’t get to see my family very often. I see them maybe once or twice a year. Definitely since this team is so strong and connected, they feel like my family.

What is your hidden talent?
I can swim one length of a pool underwater. Sometimes I can go back on a good day, but I can hold my breath for a lap.

What is your favorite type of music?
I like country.

What artist or type of music do you listen to get pumped up for a match?

Before games I like listening to sports inspirational speeches because it will have intense background noise, but it will pump me up with all of the phrases they say.

What is your favorite food?

My favorite food has to be my mom’s pastry chicken which has chicken, pesto and cheese in a pastry puff. It’s great. It’s delicious.

What is your favorite sport other than field hockey?

Probably soccer. I grew up with soccer and my whole family is big soccer fans.

Do you have a hobby?
My hobby is kayaking.

What is your major? What do you want to do after college?
I’m an early childhood education major. Hopefully, I’ll go back home and teach. I want to teach around second or third grade, but I can teach anywhere from Pre-K to third grade.
@OhioFieldHockey Edges Towson
September 11, 2016 @OhioFieldHockey Edges Towson