$restriction.code /sports/mgolf/2019-20/releases/20190908jlldzo

Ohio Men's Golf Opens Up 2019-20 Season At Joe Feaganes Marshall Invitational

Ohio Men's Golf Opens Up 2019-20 Season At Joe Feaganes Marshall Invitational

FOLLOW OHIO MEN'S GOLF: Facebook | Twitter

ATHENS, Ohio -- The Ohio men's golf team opens up the 2019 season on Monday (Sept. 9) at the 2019 Joe Feaganes Marshall Invitational. The tournament marks the Bobcats' first tournament under the direction of first-year head coach Neal Grusczynski.

The 54-hole, two-day event is hosted by the Guyan Golf and Country Club in Huntington, W. Va. The teams will play two rounds on Monday before finishing the final 18 holes on Tuesday (Sept. 10). Live scoring will be available via BirdieFire. Ohio will be competing against host Marshall, Belmont, Cleveland State, Dayton, Eastern Kentucky, Eastern Michigan, George Washington, Longwood, Mount Saint Mary's, St. Francis, VCU, Wichita State, William & Mary, Wright State and Youngstown State. 

The Bobcats haven taken part in the Marshall Invitational every year since 1968. Ohio won the first two Marshall Invitational titles, with Slugger White bringing home individual champion honors with a score of 217 in 1969.

Ohio finished in a tie for 11th place at the 2018 Joe Feaganes Marshall Invitational (Sept. 10-11) with a combined team score of 571 (+3). The Bobcats followed up a first-round 282 (-2) with a final-round 289 (+5). The tournament was shortened from 54 holes to 36 holes due to rain impacting course conditions. Wichita State won the event with a 549 (-19) after the Shockers combined to total team round scores of 267 (-17) and 282 (-2). 

Named the fourth head coach in program history in July, Grusczynski comes to Athens after serving as the director of golf and head men's and women's golf coach at Cardinal Stritch University in Milwaukee the last three years. Prior to his stint at Cardinal Stritch, Grusczynski served as the assistant coach for both the men's and women's teams at Jacksonville State in 2014-15, then served as the assistant coach at Army in '15-16. He began his coaching career as a volunteer assistant at his alma mater, Xavier.

Ohio returns seven student-athletes from the 2018-19 roster, led by junior Zach Crawford (Vandalia, Ohio). Crawford was an All-Mid-American Conference Second Team selection a year ago. He averaged a career-best 72.62 over 26 rounds. His best finish came at the Firestone Invitational (Oct 1-2), winning the event with a 209 (-4).

Also back for Ohio are junior Austin Dyson (Dublin, Ohio), junior Tanner Johnson (Venetia, Pa.), junior Zach Mandry (Solon, Ohio), redshirt freshman Quinn O'Leary (Beverly Hills, Mich.), redshirt junior Adam Stephens (Dublin, Ohio) and redshirt junior Brett Wheeler (Dublin, Ohio). Dyson averaged a career-low 77.04 over a career-high 25 rounds last year. Johnson averaged a career-low 74.75 over a career-high 24 rounds. Mandry averaged a career-best 75.31 over a career-high 26 rounds. Both Johnson and Mandry garnered Academic All-MAC recognition.

New to the Bobcats this year are freshmen Felipe Darquea (Quito, Ecuador), Joshua Dinouard (Vevey, Switzerland) and Jack Towarnicky (New Bern, N.C.).

Ohio will visit the University Club-Arlington in Richmond, Ky., next weekend (Sept. 14-15) to take part in the EKU Raising Canes Intercollegiate.